We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous view, fun accomodations ... quite a GEM”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, fun accomodations ... quite a GEM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at Treebones for two days last September. The views were UNFORGETTABLE. Sharing a glass of wine and watching the sunset behind the Pacific as truly magical. We also enjoyed the heated pool and found the yurts to be comfortable and cozy. The staff was really laid back but friendly. The dinner offerings were OK, not great like restaurants in Carmel, but certainly not worth complaining about. I would definitely recommend this establishment! Good for small family outing or a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerotelExpressSps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    202
    47
    27
    16
See reviews for
111
481
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

Reserving our yurt was easy peasy! Their online reservation form was so user friendly and even when we changed the date of our stay because of my boyfriend's last minute business trip, they made it so easy and were very accomodating.

When we arrived, their staff was very warm and inviting. It felt like we were staying at a good friend's guesthouse. Our yurt was clean and I'm very picky when it comes to cleanliness, but our yurt and the entire resort, passed the test! The bed was extremely comfortable and the furnishings felt very homey. On one of the nights that we stayed, there was a violent storm, but our yurt felt very sturdy. We stayed in yurt #12 with a partial ocean view, I've added pictures taken from our deck so you can get an idea. I was feeling very apprehensive about the communal bathroom, but it felt safe, and yes...clean!

Pros: Unique and comfortable yurts, great views, clean, yummy waffle breakfast, and friendly staff.

Cons: A bit overpriced considering it's not an actual room and no private restrooms.

  • Liked — Uniqueness
  • Disliked — Communal bathrooms
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shenn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

My boyfriend and I spent three nights at TreeBones and we are counting the days until we can return again. We arrived at TreeBones on an extremely foggy night during the forest fires of 2008. We had no idea how beautiful the scenery was until the fog lifted the next morning. We awoke to the sound of sea lions and when we exited our yurt we had an amazing view of the Pacific. We started our day with some coffee and waffles and wondered along Route 1 to see the coast. Our day was complete as we sat on the porch of our yurt and had a few drinks to celebrate our good luck.

  • Liked — the views and the porch off of the yurt
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairmountpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

My wife and I loved it. It's a certain luxurious camping experience. Open, airy, natural and incredibly comfortable. Yurts don't have toilets or showers so snobs and shy neurotics might stay home. For the rest of us, it's communing with nature; linens, hardwoods and fireplace included. Watching the stars and moon through the roof of our yurt the colony of sea lions below sang us to sleep in the evening and woke us up in the morning. It's a great central location to explore the coast. We thought the restaurant was overpriced for the quality but what do we know, we're just rednecks from Alabama?! There are some restaurants 30 minutes or less north and a fun place with seafood and steaks just south in Gorda. Complimentary breakfast got us going in the mornings and we couldn't wait to get back at night. The staff are personally invested and it shows. We stayed in the northwestern most yurt, the one in the picture and couldn't have imagined a better location. Can't wait to go back, maybe we'll bring the kids this time.

P.S. Fill up your gas tank before you get to Big Sur!

  • Liked — location, atmosphere
  • Disliked — restaurant - dinner overpriced for the quality (in 2006)
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamilton8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
641 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

We loved our stay last May. As non-drivers, we faced some significant challenges in arriving and departing. But it all worked out. The yurt experience was outstanding, the staff great. We'd done our homework and arranged the most remote yurt on the site, the better to avoid noises. I was still recovering from recent surgery and will never forget my nocturnal strolls to the toilet hut. The winds cooled my heated, aching body. Some of the other lodgings in around Big Sur may be closer to the village. And others have rates that are just silly. Treebones makes a great choice and we'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — unique lodgings and great hosts
  • Disliked — walking to toilet
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California/Puerto Morelos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

The yurts are very loud in the wind. The whole Yurt shook when the wind came through. A flap on the tent was beating on the side of the tent for most of the night.. I finally decided I had better try to fix it myself. You can't just call the front desk and have them fix it. I had to restring the parachute cords that held the flaps down and retighten them.

The firelplace is gas and the only way to keep the yurt warm. That would be ok if it did not have a timer that only lasted for 1 hour. If you want a warm yurt you have to get up and reset the timer every hour. Also It did not seem like a big deal when we read about having to go to the bathroom in a central facility. It did feel like a big deal after my wife had to go 3 times in the middle of the night and wanted me to accompany her.

Yurt # 7 was very musty. When we opened our door the odor hit us smack in the face.

The bed was comfortable. We usually sleep in a queen size and this was deffinately smaller thn that.

Remember you are about an hour from what most people think Big Sur is. We had a great dinner at Post Ranch Inn. The only bummer was the hour drive back.

We did have dinner at Treebones. It was pretty good we had the Chicken Tangine for 2.

I agree this is very unique. You could probably rent a great tent and use a blow up bed and save a few hundred dollars by staying in a campsite. You would then be alot closer to the hiking, spas, great dinning etc.

WE will not be back.

  • Liked — You could hear the sea lions at night
  • Disliked — Location and overall facility
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Morelosmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

It's a great place to stay... romantic, in-nature, one-of-a-king expereince. I would stay again, but will follow these rules...

1) Do NOT eat dinner there. Price is $20-30 per entree, and its not good. Its not bad, but its not worth the price.
2) Get a Yurt with a Fireplace. Much more romantic than the ones without.
3) Reserve one that is removed from the others. On the 2nd night, I was in one crowded among others... the noise carries. If someone is inconsiderate (not realizing that normal voice carries through the canvas lining) it can ruin your night.

  • Liked — Uniquness
  • Disliked — Noise factor from others
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
29.3 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Harbors Campground
Two Harbors Campground
#1 of 1 in Two Harbors
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Property: Treebones Resort
Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged South Coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. Sustainability statement: We are dedicated to providing an honest eco-experience. We are off grid and over 50% sustained by solar power. We recycle and utilize our onsite garden and chickens to complete a composting cycle. We are also human-sustained: Meaning..we serve tourists with our hearts and our hands and there are humans behind the service here..not robots! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing