We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun albeit a bit of a "gimmick"”
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun albeit a bit of a "gimmick"”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Treebones for one night as we drove from San Francisco to Santa Barbara. I have great things to say about Treebones, however I do feel like one night was enough. The accommodation (the Yurt), especially the bed, was extremely comfortable and very warm. We had a partial ocean view room, and it was a beautiful sight to wake up too. We arrived just after sunset and easily checked into our Yurt. Dinner at the restaurant was nice(but not cheap, as expected). The menu was slightly reduced due to a lack of stock but otherwise it was yum. The noise level at night/in the morning was expected – if you are looking too sleep in for hours, I would suggest you stay somewhere else, because you will be woken up by others. My two “complaints” about Treebones would have to be the shared bathrooms and also the breakfast. I was aware that we would be sharing bathrooms, however, given the price we paid, I would have expected the bathrooms to be cleaner. I am an avid camper, and I was very surprised to see a cleaning schedule that has the bathroom cleaned very two hours in the morning (every 3 after after 8.45am). Not really good enough. When I had my shower, it was extremely quick given the amount of hair (not mine!) covering the drain. Also, the breakfast needs to be attended to more regularly – even in an eco-resort, no wants to be making their breakfast while swiping away flies – especially not inside. But these were minor things that were fairly easily overlooked because it was otherwise a fun stay. Albeit a bit of a “gimmick” I would recommend a night at Treebones.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your constructive comments. We have encouraged our housekeeping staff to renew their diligence in the cleaning regimen and sorry you did not find the facilities as clean as we typically aspire to. Please try us again!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    204
    49
    27
    17
See reviews for
116
500
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Spectacular location. Ocean View Yurts gave a great view over the Pacific far below.

Quite pricey, however the scarcity value of the location makes it worth it in my opinion, along the entire coastal highway, there are very few other places to stay. No shops (stores!) within miles, so unless you are a fan of high-end sushi, bring some food and drink of your own.

There are lots of great hikes of varying distances on either side along the coast, and the staff gave superb recommendations to us. Some of the places would have been impossible to find without their instructions!

Overall great stay, and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had an amazing experience at treebones resort. Beautiful location, wonderful people, peaceful atmosphere. A truly amazing experience. I would definitely return again in a heartbeat. Thank you treebones for a wonderful experience.
PS. The food was also amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM15NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Pros: Everything is beautiful and perfectly built on an incredible property.

Cons:
Shampoo and conditioner are excluded from your $269 per night cost. You must purchase $.50 cent ones from the gift shop for $2 each. Seriously?!

Noise level at night. We could hear every giggle in every yurt.

An expensive dinner at the restaurant had the worst service. We were seated at 7:00 pm sharp; food arrived at 8:45 pm.

There was NO room cleaning service, so if you used the towels they were not replaced, and if your biodegradable cup melted with the water you drank, there was no cup for night 2.

Room Tip: No chance at a quiet room.
See more room tips
Green Features: It's super green, although TOO green if you ask me.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaikilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a bit difficult to find, as the signage for the turn is minimal, but it's worth persevering. The windy road up from Highway 1 is interesting if there's something coming down, so take care. The hotel is very relaxed and not like the smug posh-hippy thing I feared it may be. We had a nice lunch of burgers (one veggie, one not, both excellent) at the bar overlooking the sea and pines. Beautiful. The service was a friendly and chilled - don't come expecting 5-star trimmings, but soak up the 6-star view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

my friend and i pitched a tent here for 2 nights as part of an iPhoto road trip . we woke up to sea lions barking and a beautiful ocean view . a morning jacuzzi while sipping tea renewed our road weary bodies . the granola made me want to cry . honestly its THE best granola i've ever eaten . ashley had never been to california and i wanted to give her a california experience that was uniquely big sur . the tree bones resort delivered . in noCal lingo i'd say it's HELLA COOL . i wandered the grounds taking notes: an old hot tub turned water feature . an organic garden inviting visitors in (go meet the cat that patrols the space . i swear he talked to me) everywhere i turned i was delighted with the mindful attention to detail like using linguini pasta for coffee stirrers (WHAT ?! i know, brilliant right?) just GO . you'll thank me later . xo

Room Tip: if you've going to pitch a tent in big sur . do it here ! consider sleeping in the nest .. tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superchris77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

While planning a 9 day road trip from LA to Portland, my wife requested a few non-typical honeymoon experiences. "glamping" was near the top of her list. Although previously unaware of this term, I was charged with the task to deliver. This is when i stumbled upon Treebones. This place is a little expensive, but worth the experience. The scenery alone is worth the visit. The yurts a truly special experience. The resort is quiet yet elegant and calming.

We did not try the on site sushi bar as the prices seemed a little steep. Breakfast was included and was above average.

We have plans to return and try the couple nest. Would recommend this place for anyone willing to try something new.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSmith1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
29.8 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,130 reviews
29.3 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,170 reviews
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
305 reviews
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
401 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Property: Treebones Resort
Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged South Coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. Sustainability statement: We are dedicated to providing an honest eco-experience. We are off grid and over 50% sustained by solar power. We recycle and utilize our onsite garden and chickens to complete a composting cycle. We are also human-sustained: Meaning..we serve tourists with our hearts and our hands and there are humans behind the service here..not robots! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing