We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

There are yurts, tent sites, and a human nest to rent at this lovely resort. No matter what sort of accommodation you choose you will have an ocean view, fresh hot breakfast, use of the pool, hot tub, and spotless hot showers. Our tent sight (#1) had privacy, space, and a full ocean view. The employees are friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. If you want to go kayaking ask them about contacting Cubby at San Simeon Cove.

Green Features: This resort was installing solar hot water heaters while we were there. They have an organic garden on site, practice recycling, and make good use of environment friendly materials and resources.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    199
    46
    26
    15
See reviews for
104
464
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked this place for the night leading into my partner's 26th birthday as it seemed to be something totally different to what the area (and, in fact, the world) have to offer.
Checking in was quick and easy, we were able to pull up to the front reception in the car and check in, then drop the car back down at the car park. We also had a lad in a golf buggy come and collect us and our bags and drive them to our yurt.
After spending a few hours looking out over the Pacific from in the hottub, basking in the sun and sampling the good range of ales, we chatted to the friendly clientele and watched the whales migrating south down the Californian coast.
Dinner was delicious and served by friendly and helpful staff, and could only have been bettered had the sushi bar been open. We stayed on a Tuesday and this is the only night of the week the sushi bar is closed. In all honesty, the reviews for the sushi bar were a large contributed as to booking the treebones resort, and it wasn't clear that the sushi bar would be shut in Tuesdays. This is the only part keeping the review from 5*, but was still certainly higher than a 4* experience.
Loved it loved it loved it and would pressure anyone to go if they were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in one of Treebones' yurts. The whole site is very pleasant and well looked-after and the yurts are great (provided you start from the viewpoint of "this is a tent", rather than "this is a hotel room"!). The shared bathroom facilities are fine. The only sight letdown was the restaurant - it's fairly pricey (which is fine - that's to be expected in the middle of nowhere with no competition!), but a lot of the food/service fell very slightly short of the mark (for example, we waited just over an hour between sitting down for dinner and receiving our food. When it arrived (filet mignon, which we'd ordered rare), it was significantly overcooked). Overall, however, a great stay in a lovely setting with great staff.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

we went to treebones last year. It was a fantastic place. You must experience it. The air, the sounds,the sights! Great areas to explore nearby. It was wonder to wake up to the sound of the sea lions. Lovely people. Don't miss this

Green Features: very environmentally friendly. BE sure to check out the gardens
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babsforty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really did not know what to expect and was really blown away. First the location is great - near some fabulous beaches - just ask reception for ideas. Second, the yurt was enormous. You could get about 40 people in there if you really wanted to. Third, it was really comfortable (we had yurt 1) with a basin and running water in the yurt. Fourth, the staff were lovely. Had no issue with the showers and bathrooms - all very clean. Breakfast was not opulent but had everything I wanted including a lovely view. Dinner was fabulous. Good job we did not say for a week as I would not have fitted my clothes. And there is a piano in the main living room which I was happy to play. The pool is very small but then again Treebones makes that very clear. If we came back to Big Sur we would love to stay at Treebones again and would stay at a different yurt just to get the sea views. All in all, an amazing stay which far exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Yurt 1 is accessible. It is near the bathrooms and main lodge. Take a look at the plan on the websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staying in a yurt along the Highway 1 on the southern edge of Big Sur is certainly a treat and fun lodging experience. A couple of major issues, at least to me, brought Treebones Resort down a couple of notches. I was expecting a bit more staff friendliness during our stay. During the rest of our stay, not one staff member greeted us with a smile and a good morning or afternoon when we crossed paths. No help was offered by the golf cart driver loading our luggage onto his cart. I received more personal connection at a Mariott in east Indianapolis the week before than this Glamping resort. Never were they rude, but they never made us feel all that welcome. The other distraction to our otherwise enjoyable stay is the loud noise of their power generator facing the yurts. Of the 16 Yurts on 10 acres, at least 6-7 yurts are situated where you can’t help but be subjected to a constant, piercing whirl 24/7. This is a big mistake that the owners should spend their waking hours to do whatever is necessary to fix. What a disappointment when you are trying to enjoy yourself in a beautiful, serene location. The bed was comfortable and clean. Loved the hardwood floors and pure tap water!
By working with the staff on customer service and redo the location of their power generator, they will greatly improve their guests Glamping experience.

Room Tip: Yurts furtherst from the power generator room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paca7877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Amazing place in an amazing location. Check out the veg garden! Just brilliant. All staff were great. Food was fab (a little expensive maybe). We stayed in an amazing family yurt. It was huge and lovely. Just one thing that could of been better... the bathrooms were communal, very clean, but the toilet doors were really short with big gaps at the side, so if you like privacy then maybe Treebones is not for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyupsharpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
29.8 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
29.3 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Property: Treebones Resort
Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged South Coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. Sustainability statement: We are dedicated to providing an honest eco-experience. We are off grid and over 50% sustained by solar power. We recycle and utilize our onsite garden and chickens to complete a composting cycle. We are also human-sustained: Meaning..we serve tourists with our hearts and our hands and there are humans behind the service here..not robots! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing