We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of a Kind Amazing Place, a Must” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of a Kind Amazing Place, a Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Treebones resort is a truly unique place that is a great way to experience the outdoors without going all the way. We thought we would be glamping when we set out on this adventure but really it was more like a hotel room without a toilet inside it.

The yurts have gorgeous hardwood floors, a table and two chairs, a queen size bed with bedside tables on either side, a queen size sofa, a heater and a sink with hot water and electricity to plug in your electronics. At the top of the yurt is a dome skylight which you can open. The skylight also has no cover to it so you wake up with the sun unless you can sleep through it so I would have brought my eye mask if I’d know about that one.

I love how all places overestimate the walking time to the bathroom. It's about a 20 second walk to the bathroom. All the yurts are close, so you really can't worry about the location of your yurt unless it is too close to the action then maybe it would be a little noisy? We were in Yurt 8 and it was perfect.

There is no internet access in the yurts themselves. You can get internet up at the main building to sync as needed. There are no phones in the yurts or the main building. There is a pay phone – yes a pay phone but I don’t know anyone who has a calling card anymore and using your phone to skype is specifically discouraged because of the limited amount of total bandwidth here.

If you’re a dude, you’re in luck. Going to the bathroom in the middle of the night is a walk out onto your balcony. For the ladies, I suggest going to the bathroom twice before you go to sleep. Then don’t drink anything. If you have to go, the toilets are really only about 40 seconds walk away.

On your balcony that overlooks the ocean (if you get an ocean view), you will find two Adirondack chairs. We went out there to read yesterday afternoon and were greeted by whales playing around in the distance. So bring your binoculars because we forgot ours and the gift shop doesn’t sell them, rent them or apparently have a pair to borrow.

Finally, there are no bears. So if you get woken up in the middle of the night by a family of huge raccoons, just go back to sleep. Don't embarrass yourself and do what I did. I'll never tell. It helps not to keep food in your yurt, which will attract the animals who can't get in but will come 'round if you do!!

Wait, did I mention there is a sushi bar? I nearly forgot. Could this place get any better? There is an actual sushi bar right next to the pool and lodge and they have great fish. I was really impressed with Sara, the sushi chef. And I am a sushi snob for better or worse.

If I have one complaint, and it's a tiny very high maintenance one, it's that they don't have robes. It may go against the "roughing it" ethos of the hotel, but because you have to run back and forth to the bathroom and the shower, it would be super nice if they had robes in the rooms :)


Summary of things to bring just in case you think they will be handy.
Binoculars
Eye mask
Robe

Room Tip: We stayed in Yurt #8 and we loved it. The view was great and it was easy to get to.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are completely self sustained. They do not use any outside energy as far as I know.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    199
    46
    26
    15
See reviews for
104
464
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We absolutely loved this place! We stayed three nights in late July in an ocean view yurt. The location was spectacular - looking right out over the Pacific and the yurt itself was beautiful, very comfortable and cosy. The best thing about the yurt was we got the 'back to nature' feel of camping, whilst enjoying a bit of luxury - perfect! The shared bathrooms are the only downside, and it's really no big deal - a quick trip, and they're very clean and pleasant.
Both restaurants (the sushi bar and the Wild Coast restaurant) served great food, and breakfast was also of a high standard. We also enjoying exploring the organic veggie garden and meeting the local cat Harry, and made the most of the board games available in the lodge.
The only downside to this stay was the Big Sur fog - being from Australia we weren't aware of this before booking our trip, and while we enjoyed the views when the sun was out, we were a bit disappointed we couldn't do so all the time. However, I think that's part and parcel of visiting this stunning area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We checked into the Treebones resort for a two night stay. We booked one night at the campsite and the second night in the nest (because the nest was only available for the one night - you need to book it really far in advance). Check in was flawless and surprised by the warm and very helpful staff that even helped to bring us and our luggage to our campsite. That night we enjoyed a delicious sushi dinner and special thanks to Danny for his great advice, good service and solid sense of humor. The next day we stayed at the pool all day enjoying the unique view and sunshine. We moved our stuff into the nest and had our tent setup under the nest as a backup for rainy or foggy weather. The nest is unbelievable unique and has a great view. It also is surrounded by a wooden fence that keeps it very private which is great. That night we unfortunately did experience some foggy weather that caused rain drops to drop into the nest from the tree, and it did get quite wet. We unfortunately had to continue our night in the tent. My only suggestion would be to have tarp available to ensure a dry night inside the nest. Except for that everything was unreal and really made our trip unforgettable. Not to forget the free delicious breakfast and free wifi. Highly recommended and thank the Treebones team for this warm and great stay.

Room Tip: The nest is very unique and a once in a lifetime experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raynamarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place was truly amazing! We stayed here two nights in the Silbey tent which is among the pitch your own tent area but is a tepee like, already standing tent so you don't have to set up your own. To me I think it had the best location as I like to be a it away from the crowds and although other tent areas were around us we had a lot of privacy.

Sibey Site: On a raised platform and stays comfortable at night. Had a beautiful location and view, also had a view of the Nest and it looked so cool as the sun was setting.

Views: Incredible! I spent so much time sitting on our picnic table staring at the beautiful view of the ocean and the stars can be seen so well at night I never wanted it to end.

Lodge: Such a beautiful place, it has the cutest gift shop area with all kinds of things you would need, snacks and supplies. Their bathroom and showers were the nicest I saw on my whole 3 week road trip and were wonderful to use, they had flowers in there and it was always nice and warm :)

Food: They have 2 restaurants, we unfortunately never had time to eat at the main lodge restaurant but definitely had the sushi and it was the best most beautifully made sushi I have ever eaten, it was a bit pricey but something I really did not mind paying extra for. We ate out on the Sunset bar and this was something I had been looking forward to the most and it was amazing, that is the view I wish I could have everyday while I eat! Plus their free morning breakfast has the most delicious hand made granola and yogurt plus huge fluffy make yourself waffles!

Service: Everyone was soo friendly and helpful, the person who greeted me chatted and made sure I knew everything, plus had no problem any time I wanted to change anything or ask any questions. Everyone was very attentive, the people who drove us from our tent to the parking lot always chatted and gave us ideas of things to do in the area, it helped make the experience great.

Pool: Maybe my favorite pool of all time, definitely my favorite pool of the trip it has a view of the ocean, right by the sky bar, and is like swimming in a fairy tale! Its surrounded by huge colorful flowers and butterflies were dancing all over them. It was clean and just perfectly in the sun, a nice size and I just had such a fun and relaxing time.

Honestly this is such an amazing place, the Yurts looked really nice as well but I think for me camping / the silbey tent / the Nest are the main places I will choose to stay and I will most certainly be back!

Green Features: This is another reason I love this hotel so much they did a fantastic job reducing waste and using fresh local organic ingredients for the food. I don't think any place could be better!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyStillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just got back from staying at the Nest at Treebones. If you enjoy nature, this is a must! The campsite included a giant nest with a beautiful view of the ocean, and a space at the bottom of the hill where we pitched a tent. There is a fence around the nest to discourage other curious guests from climbing into it. It was an incredibly unique experience. The mattress included in the nest was more comfortable than I had expected and we did not add any padding other than a sleeping bag and sheets. I had been concerned about bugs but did not find this to be a problem in the nest either. The bathrooms are about a 3 minute walk away.

We did not eat at the lodge other then the included breakfast. In many ways, we felt underdressed since we were doing more of a camping experience. We took a stove and cooked at our site. If you wish to go hiking or to the beach, you will need to drive offsite. Sand dollar beach is close by, and if you go at the right time, you do indeed find plenty of sand dollars. However, there is not a lot of hiking at this beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMV14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I cannot even begin to tell you how wonderful Treebones is. It is a very unique place, unlike anything we have ever experienced. I am not a camper. This is "glamping" (glamour camping)! We stayed in Yurt 16. It was away from the other yurts in the yurt village, which was nice for us. The yurt was absolutely beautiful inside: queen size bed, sink, small table with chairs, a futon and a gas "fire place". Outside on our deck we had two Adirondack chairs and it overlooked the Pacific Ocean. Unreal. This is a chilly area of California, so jackets and long pants are needed. The bed was so comfortable that we had the best night sleep in quite a while! Keep in mind, there is no bathroom, but there was a bathroom a short walk away from our yurt. The showers are a bit farther, but a nice walk. There are only three women's showers, but I never had to wait. I showered at night, which was probably helpful. They are very clean and they do supply one towel and one wash cloth per person. If you need more, just ask-we did! There is no wifi, TV or cell service here. Be prepared! Breakfast was eggs, toast, make your own waffles, granola, and yogurt. Delicious! We were not able to try the restaurant for dinner, but heard it was very good. This was a wonderful way to spend our time in Big Sur. A great place for families to get away, I saw kids loving the pool! Keep in mind, there is quite a bit of walking and it is not flat! :-)

Room Tip: If you do not want to walk far, choose a yurt closer to the main lodge.
See more room tips
Green Features: This resort is as green as it can be! They grow all their own food and have a compost.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sewcraz4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Where to start!? Treebones is a special place. The location is perfect - on a hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The staff are friendly without being overbearing and the yurts are a great experience. The weather during our stay was great, which always helps, and we had a great time relaxing on our porch, or chilling in the hot tub and swimming pool drinking an ice-cold beer. I would recommend this place to get away from the hustle and commercialism of much of the Highway 1 experience. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Pick one with a sea view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Really impressed with the Eco-friendly vibe - From the organic garden to the water-saving measures.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeakysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
29.8 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
29.3 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Property: Treebones Resort
Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged South Coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. Sustainability statement: We are dedicated to providing an honest eco-experience. We are off grid and over 50% sustained by solar power. We recycle and utilize our onsite garden and chickens to complete a composting cycle. We are also human-sustained: Meaning..we serve tourists with our hearts and our hands and there are humans behind the service here..not robots! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing