We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Treebones Resort
Nearby Hotels
$1,525
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Sur Lodge(Big Sur)
$969
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (884)
Filter reviews
884 results
Traveler rating
571
215
51
29
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
215
51
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssushiorganic gardenpool and hot tubmake your own waffleshuman nestthe main lodgesea lionsocean viewwild coastgranolaunique experiencetree bonesfrittataboth nightsrunning waterbathrooms and showersgas fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 884 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This resort concept is slightly risky but Treebones pulls it off with flying colors! The yurts are clean, comfortable and spacious. The location offers a panoramic view of Big Sur's coast line as well as mountain peaks. The restaurant and sushi bar offer yummy options for lunch and dinner, and the complementary breakfast is abundant, fresh and delicious! The pool and hot tub are also a wonderful option for relaxing after hiking or travel. I highly recommend a stay at Treebones! Between the view and the local food, the gorgeous gardens and friendly staff, this resort brings you back to the earth and to heaven at the same time! The only recommendation I have is to grab some of the complimentary earplugs at check-in, as the wind against the yurt is quite loud at night. The beds are really comfy though, so makes up for any noise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveisyou11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful review. I can see already that many viewers have found your observations helpful. I am glad you suggested guests grab our complimentary earplugs...they really do help provide a peaceful sleep! we are afterall....still tents...sound carries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife always wanted to do this, so we took our daughter on a road trip. Easy drive from our first night in SLO. Stopped and saw the Sea Elephant rookery on the way.

Great experience. We had the largest yurt with two queen beds. Very comfortable beds. Can't remember a better night sleep. Communal bathrooms were very clean

Dinner in the restaurant was very credible. Good comfort food. Staff was very accommodating.

I am a pretty seasoned traveller, and I would recommend this for anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzznutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for visiting...so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had so much fun staying in yurt #16, which is somewhat removed from the other yurts and therefore more private. The view from our deck was awesome. The gas fireplace, which was kind of touchy and lighted with a boom that rattled the glass door to the fireplace, warmed the yurt enough that we could take off our jackets. The heavy blankets were very welcome at night when I woke to see the stars through the skylight. The fact that you had to go outside to walk to the well maintained bathrooms meant that I was forced outside to view the panorama of the ocean by moonlight - what an experience!
In the mornings we walked up to the main lodge for the free breakfast. My favorite was the waffles. Even though it was cold I always ate outside on the porch with the huge panoramic view of the ocean, blue and white in the morning sunlight.
Dinner at the restaurant was good but expensive. However, everything in Big Sur is expensive.
The Wi-Fi in the lodge was painfully slow, but welcome when I needed to look something up. No cell service whatsoever.
Overall, staying at Treebones was an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: Yurt 15 is by one of the bathrooms, but otherwise private. Yurt 16 is next to the treehouse and otherwise private. The windows from 16 don't overlook the ocean, but the deck does. The other yurts are clustered into sort of a village so you might hear your neighbors.
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The place is so cool, the ambience exceptional. We spent three nights camping, soaking in the spa, hanging in the lodge and making day trips from the area. We saw whales, went to Heast Castle, Esalan and generally had an excellent mi vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizard556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Glad your tried our campsites..brought your own tent! way to go....can't beat the view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed in a mountain view yurt for one night yesterday. Initially reserved online a yurt and a campsite (for teenage kids), but got a call back saying kids under 18 not allowed to be at the campsite without an adult, so they moved us to a large yurt (for 4). The bathrooms are a 15 second walk away from the yurts in the main building (none of the yurts have adjoining bathrooms), but are very clean and well lit. The sushi bar was great (large pieces and filling for growing boys!) and the restaurant food and service, including check-in, check-out were friendly and easy. Spa and pool were well heated. The night sky was filled with stars (clear night!) and saw several whales and dolphins off the coast while eating breakfast outdoors on the sun-filled patio. Overall, worth the experience as a self-contained 4star like resort for an evening.

Room Tip: A mountain view yurt is just fine, not really likely to spend time in the yurt during the day.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews