We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Human Nest”
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Human Nest”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I spent my forty-ninth birthday in the human nest and it was a great experience! Rocked to sleep by the ocean, cool, clean, clear, living in a tree. All of my childhood dreams come true. Great food, great staff, beautiful, beautiful facilities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrTatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
What an adventurous way to celebrate your 49th birthday. Not everyone is brave enough to NEST over the ocean in a bundle of twigs for the night. Hoorah for you. Come back for your 50th and try the Treehouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    204
    48
    27
    17
See reviews for
114
496
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

A genuinely Eco resort that you don't have to make many sacrifices for. Spectacular views of the ocean, great staff, watched the sunset from the hot tub, saw orca's from the restaurant balcony whilst tucking into freshly made waffles and all in very comfortable surroundings. The one downside, if you can call it that, is the lack of en suite bathrooms. Very good food (local, organic etc) that is by far the best option unless you're willing to do quite a drive. Tips: book early and plan your yurt or pitch using their map of the site. Stay 3 nights if you can to truly immerse yourself into the place.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meerkat1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

A wonderful, peaceful and scenic place to stay n agree whole heartedly with the high ratings from other reviews.

The sushi restaurant was slightly expensive but good quality and fresh and we watch sunset disappear so quickly n spectacularly!

As well slight inconvenient of shared toilets but we had yurt 14 next to the pool and facilities with own parking spot and late night use of the spa !

Did not have enough time really... Spent two nights there n didn't get to do many of the hikes or kayaking as we hoped- saw the elephant seals a must see on the way to San Simeon n Hearst castle (give it a miss as a bit rich to pay $25 just to see the common areas only- you have to pay a further $20 to see bedrooms etc)

Overall a memorable time!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturalb0rntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Gorgeous views, delicious organic food, beautiful sunsets all tucked in to this self sustainable yurt village. The yurts are beautiful,very spacious, and enough to make you want to live in a round space forever. The location is unbeatable. The pool and hot tube are an extra bonus. The staff are super friendly and there is a very laid back atmosphere to the whole place. I would def. recommend this place to everyone!!! You must stay in the yurt. Stargazing and whale watching at its finest. Hope to come back one day!

Room Tip: A room w/a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeprichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for spending part of your honeymoon at Treebones. We are so glad you found our laid back atmosphere and friendly staff to your liking. Come back and celebrate your anniversary with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I loved this experience. We had a partial ocean view Yurt, it was clean, comfortable and very pretty. The bed was very comfortable with the warm quilts. Somewhere between camping and a hotel room, the yurt is a fun way to experience a place. The weather was cool, but not cold and we were comfortable in the space. There was a small heater in the room, but it didn't make much of a difference.
We loved the grounds and spent a lot of time walking around and photographing the organic garden. The on-site shop is quite darling. Good wine selection, too.
We had a great time at the sushi bar, food was very good, fresh and a good value.
I'd stay again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask the staff about what is best, look at the map closely and the proximity of the Yurt to the lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertafromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed at Treebones 9/15 - 9/18 2011. I went with a group of girlfriends. There were 7 of us and we got 2 yurts, 1 oceanview and 1 not. If It were up to me, I would not have picked Treebones because I am not a "camping" type, I don't want a bathroom not in my room. But I went with the flow, as everyone else thought it sounded cool.

Let me start by saying I probably won't stay at Treebones again because when I travel to Big Sur area, I am usually (95% of time) with my husband who definately wants an in-room bathroom as well. That being said, my stay at Treebones was still excellent.

The staff was excellent, in particular, Lisa. We were getting up early one morning and needed to leave before breakfast was to be served but Lisa came in early to make sure we had coffee and hot water. We appreciated it because we were off to the Big Sur Trail marathon!

I appreciated that there was no TV in the room , and wi-fi was only available in the lodge.

Of the 2 yurts my friends and I reserved, 1 was oceanview and bigger (for 4 people. #13) The other was for 3 people and was mountain view (#3). #13 had a gas fireplace, (really a stove)which was awesome because the nights got cool. So if you are going, I would consider getting a yurt with a stove/fireplace as every time I've been to Big Sur, it gets cool at night.

The restrooms are not far from the yurts. But it is a little wierd if you get up in the middle of the night to go. One night, I got up around 3, and encountered a deer on my way to the restroom. No big deal, just a little startling.

The restaurant on site is a little pricey. And there isn't much else close by.

Pluses'-
no wifi/internet (yes, I think this is a plus)
- staff was awesome
- food in restaurant was really good

Minuses
- restaurant a bit pricey , but not uncommon for that area
- its just me, but I do like a bathroom in the room


All this being said, I do need to give Treebones high marks

If you go, I doubt you'll be disappointed

Room Tip: - I would definately pick a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My partner and I rented a yurt for one night on December 23rd, 2006. It was an amazing experience, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an atypical lodging experience. We got one of the ocean view yurts with a Queen bed, fireplace, and wash basin. The view off of the deck was awesome; December 24th was a beautiful, sunny and warm California day. We sat on the deck, soaking up the views and the sun, and listened to the Elephant seals on the beach below. My only "complaint" is the food available there. It's rather limited, and definitely pricey, but I don't think most are visiting Treebones for the dining experience. We brought a lot of snacks and wine from Trader Joes in Monterrey, and thank goodness we did. Once you get to Treebones, you don't really want to have to head out too often. Beautiful place, welcoming staff, amazing location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Sur hotels
29.8 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,122 reviews
32.5 mi away
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Glen Oaks Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,174 reviews
29.3 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
391 reviews
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
470 reviews
32.2 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Property: Treebones Resort
Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged South Coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. Sustainability statement: We are dedicated to providing an honest eco-experience. We are off grid and over 50% sustained by solar power. We recycle and utilize our onsite garden and chickens to complete a composting cycle. We are also human-sustained: Meaning..we serve tourists with our hearts and our hands and there are humans behind the service here..not robots! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing