We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view's the thing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucia Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The view's the thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Four of us stayed for two nights in cabins 7 and 8 and had a wonderful time. I've stayed in places with fabulous views before, but nothing better than this. The cabins are a little primitive, but they don't claim to be anything else and the beds were very comfortable. Each has a small Franklin gas stove that comes in handy on those cold Big Sur nights/early mornings when you want to get into the (rather small!) shower. The Adirondack chairs in front of each cabin are a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of coffee while enjoying the truly amazing view. The price is high, but we thought it was worth it. And improvements are being made: while we were there, two straightback wooden chairs were replaced in each cabin with a very comfortable overstuffed leather chair that matched the small sofa already there.

The staff in the store (where you check in) had its moods, but they were generally friendly, sometimes very. We ate dinner in the restaurant twice and the food ranged from excellent (salmon, risotto) to less than average (a steak that left more than a little to be desired). Wait staff for dinner also ranged from very good to clearly inexperienced. The dinner prices are, indeed, high for what you in some cases get, but the dining room is pleasant with a good view, and eating there saves you at least a 15 mile drive each way. Wine prices are pretty low.

Breakfast is included in the price and was generally adequate, with hard-boiled eggs, yoghurt, toast, muffins, some pretty good pastries, instant oatmeal, juice, fruit and good coffee.

We would (and hope to) do it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverwest48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    143
    48
    26
    22
See reviews for
39
278
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

A great location only goes so far. You need to also be decent to customers and offer some value that feels fair and reasonable. This is a fun little place in a beautiful location. The food in the restaurant was good but not excellent. However, the folks working there had a terrible attitude, and the lodging accommodations were laughably overpriced for what you get. PT Barnum said a sucker is born every minute, and I definitely left there feeling like that sucker.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Lucia Lodge is like stepping back in time to an era of rustic charm and the perfect stay in Big Sur. The little cabins are nestled on the side of a cliff which has a breathtaking view of the ocean and mountains around it. Each cabin has a comfy bed and cute living area with a little fireplace as well as a veranda to take in the view with a glass of wine. Staff were friendly and helpful but mainly you were left in peace to just relax and enjoy the views! My only criticism is that the adjoining restaurant was very expensive in compsarison to the room and as this is the only choice of where to eat nearby seemed odd - partcularly as the food was fairly basic

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed one night, and truly enjoyed ourselves. The view, as you'd expect, is spectacular (hike 3 minutes up behind the cabins for an even better view). The dinner and breakfast were both very good. The bed was amazingly comfortable. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and others seemed to not care very much. Sure, the rooms could be upgraded, but why? They're comfortable and cozy.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms 7 or 8 for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimpulcrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
222 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

There is no question that the view from cabins 7 through 10 have a spectacular southern view of the Big Sur Coastline. Cabin 10 also has a westerly view and is the most expensive. (About $255.00)The other cabins, 1 - 6, do not afford the same view, but the price is of course much cheaper. The room itself was nice and the bed was comfortable. We went with another couple and their room had even nicer décor. The annoying thing (for my wife and our friends) was there was no hair dryer in the room. Come on, who doesn't provide a hair dryer in this twenty-first century? When we complained, we were told, "Oh we have one at the desk." Now they tell us. Why not at check in? Besides, you need to drive out of the 'cabins area' and down Highway 1 to get to the office and there is seldom anyone there.

One other thing that perhaps would only bother me was the place was rotting away. The boards of the room's walls were, in spots, being held together by the paint that covered it. The outside showed many areas of rotting wood. If you think about it, that is a home for mold and perhaps insect infestation.

Room Tip: The rooms 7 -10 fill up quickly. If you want to sty here, reserve early. And ask for the hairdryer w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed one night while driving Pacific Coast Highway. Lodge one of few options along the way. Incredible views and cozy cabins with nice comfortable beds and gas fireplaces. We arrived at 7:20 pm after a long day of driving with 2 objectives: have a nice leisurely dinner with a nice bottle of wine and watch he sunset over the ocean. Unfortunately, the restaurant, the only option for miles and miles, stops serving at 8:15, which means there is no way to see the sunset and get dinner, which is a shame with a simple fix. Also, there is a fabulous deck overlooking the water which we only discovered in the morning. The staff were pleasant and helpful; place just needs a few tweaks and some marketing assistance and it could be amazing.

Room Tip: 7 and 8 have full ocean views but there are lots of views from the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zamy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I thought Lucia Lodge was great, the views are spectacular and I loved the rusticness of the lodges themselves. Super cosy and romantic and brilliant for whale spotting! Unfortunately our fire was broken, which we reported upon arrival and which the staff were completely non plussed about. We had to remind them the following evening after a day out, to find it still hadn't been fixed. Again, they had forgotten and were hardly bothered, even though it was cold in the evenings. We found the customer service to be very poor, which has certainly put us off ever going back but aside from that, the lodges themselves are great, (although the shower didn't get any hot water on both days) and the restaurant views and food are great. There is also a nice little walk up a short trail to the right of the lodges that leads to a bench which is perched higher up in a grove, for even higher views. The staff didn't tell us about this, or about anything else in the area for that matter but thankfully we had friendly neighbours who had stumbled upon it! Wifi is sketchy and no phone service if you are planning on doing any work whilst away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate78London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
22.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
20.7 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
20.8 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Property: Lucia Lodge
Address: 62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing