We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful View - - On the Outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lucia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucia Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
222 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A Beautiful View - - On the Outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

There is no question that the view from cabins 7 through 10 have a spectacular southern view of the Big Sur Coastline. Cabin 10 also has a westerly view and is the most expensive. (About $255.00)The other cabins, 1 - 6, do not afford the same view, but the price is of course much cheaper. The room itself was nice and the bed was comfortable. We went with another couple and their room had even nicer décor. The annoying thing (for my wife and our friends) was there was no hair dryer in the room. Come on, who doesn't provide a hair dryer in this twenty-first century? When we complained, we were told, "Oh we have one at the desk." Now they tell us. Why not at check in? Besides, you need to drive out of the 'cabins area' and down Highway 1 to get to the office and there is seldom anyone there.

One other thing that perhaps would only bother me was the place was rotting away. The boards of the room's walls were, in spots, being held together by the paint that covered it. The outside showed many areas of rotting wood. If you think about it, that is a home for mold and perhaps insect infestation.

Room Tip: The rooms 7 -10 fill up quickly. If you want to sty here, reserve early. And ask for the hairdryer w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    143
    48
    26
    22
See reviews for
39
278
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed one night while driving Pacific Coast Highway. Lodge one of few options along the way. Incredible views and cozy cabins with nice comfortable beds and gas fireplaces. We arrived at 7:20 pm after a long day of driving with 2 objectives: have a nice leisurely dinner with a nice bottle of wine and watch he sunset over the ocean. Unfortunately, the restaurant, the only option for miles and miles, stops serving at 8:15, which means there is no way to see the sunset and get dinner, which is a shame with a simple fix. Also, there is a fabulous deck overlooking the water which we only discovered in the morning. The staff were pleasant and helpful; place just needs a few tweaks and some marketing assistance and it could be amazing.

Room Tip: 7 and 8 have full ocean views but there are lots of views from the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zamy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I thought Lucia Lodge was great, the views are spectacular and I loved the rusticness of the lodges themselves. Super cosy and romantic and brilliant for whale spotting! Unfortunately our fire was broken, which we reported upon arrival and which the staff were completely non plussed about. We had to remind them the following evening after a day out, to find it still hadn't been fixed. Again, they had forgotten and were hardly bothered, even though it was cold in the evenings. We found the customer service to be very poor, which has certainly put us off ever going back but aside from that, the lodges themselves are great, (although the shower didn't get any hot water on both days) and the restaurant views and food are great. There is also a nice little walk up a short trail to the right of the lodges that leads to a bench which is perched higher up in a grove, for even higher views. The staff didn't tell us about this, or about anything else in the area for that matter but thankfully we had friendly neighbours who had stumbled upon it! Wifi is sketchy and no phone service if you are planning on doing any work whilst away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate78London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

This place is all about the location which is spectacular. Check in was easy and all the personnel I met were friendly and competent. The room was charming or dated depending on your attitude about such things. Everything worked and the bed was very comfortable. I didn't come here for TV or Wi-Fi. I didn't notice any road noise. The food at the restaurant was very good. Reading a book in the early morning at a picnic table down the hill from the hotel was wonderful. I hope I have the chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwyyynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Considering the region, it is a nice place with a reasonable price.
They only have electricity and wifi using a generator and this can bring some challenges like in the day we stay there. They had a problem with the generator but does not take long and doesn't change my good opinion about the place.
The view is awesome and the restaurant really good. Extra positive view due to the service, good in the inn and even better in the restaurant (the waitress give us amazing indications to stop and we do appreciated a lot).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lugfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is all about the location and the view. Fog does roll in, but that can't be helped. When it burns off, you have a great view.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. A little dated, but not bad.

Bed was comfortable.

The price to quality ratio is about right. It is slightly per night than a typical hotel, but the location is amazing.

Restaurant was ok for both dinner and breakfast. Nothing special but not bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flycycletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in Dec 2012. We had high expectations but when we arrived for our 1 night on our road trip honeymoon the main lodge was shrouded in darkness. Our keys and an informal note (with no emergency phone no.) was taped to the door! We found our cabin, which although overall was cosy in appearance, was dirty and dusty. The small heater did not appear to work, so we were left in the cold without instructions or a number to call for assistance. In the morning we mentioned this to a member of staff in the shop but she didn't seem at all bothered! I definitely would not recommend as although the location is stunning the service and the cabins need a massive makeover! (or a new owner who cares about the standards of their accommodation and service).

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
22.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
20.8 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
19.1 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Property: Lucia Lodge
Address: 62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing