We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful peaceful spot”
Review of Lucia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucia Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed just one night in a beautiful cabin overlooking the ocean.

Nice room and outside seating spaces for enjoying beautiful peaceful views.

We were welcomed warmly and given good local information.

Top tip: Take your own wine to sip in the evening and some supplies as the shop is very expensive indeed. They do provide ice-buckets though.

Dinner is mediocre but the setting is what you come here for. And what a setting it is. Beautiful

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sizzlemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 411 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed one night in Oct. and it served our purposes. Nothing spectacular here but the view...and it is spectacular. The rooms are on the older side for sure, but very, very clean with comfortable bed. Noise can definitely be a problem due to the very, very thin walls, but as long as guests know things shutdown early you should get some sleep. Some nice benches and viewpoint to take some wine and a meal and watch the ocean or sunset. Only other thing to know is that it is not in Big Sur proper, so you may have to drive a bit if your dining, etc. elsewhere in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElvisinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ate lunch at Lucia Lodge last weekend. The food was great. The staff was friendly and the view was outstanding. y wife and I enjoyed a relaxing lunch with our 4 month old daughter. I recommend the fish and chips. The portabella sandwich was excellent as well. Very easy to get to as it is right off of Highway 1.

This was an easy choice as we traveled on Highway 1.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

At first when we drew up I thought what have we come to. But I really yes it's maybe not everyone's choice,but the bed was the best we had slept in all the trip. The food was great as was the setting, yes I would stay there again and yes I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get up early for really hot water to shower in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmate84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We set our hearts on staying in one of 4 cabins overlooking the Pacific and boy did we make the right choice. The cabins are fantastic, well appointed with no television or telephone to disturb you, we spent the late afternoon on the high point behind the cabin sipping champagne as the sunset, plenty of photo opportunities, in the morning we woke to the sound of the ocean washing over the rocks as the sun rose above the mountains. One down point eat before you enter the Big Sur National Park as the food at the lodge leaves a lot to be desired very much a captive audience situation, we were advised by a returning american couple to eat on the way and spend your stay enjoying the view from outside of the cabin, unforgetable. The expensive low quality food aside I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Cabins 7,8,9 and 10 are a must, book very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

For our stay in the Big Sur on our road trip south we wanted to be away from the noise and hassle and boy did we pick the right place.

The Lodge is located in an extremely quiet area on Highway 1 away from campsites, gas stations and convenience stores. When you're there, expect to feel completely isolated from the rest of the world.

We were in Cabin 1 which did look rather like a Bates motel room from the outside! but had a simply amazing view across the big blue of the pacific. The room was basic, phone less, tv-less, wifi limited, but that's exactly what it wants to be. Despite other earlier reviews (anybody else check the worst reviews and get freaked out), the room was extremely clean and tidy and comfy. In fact our bed was one of the most comfy on our whole trip.

We ate in the restaurant and were really impressed by the standard of the food. Sure it was expensive but everywhere along the Big Sur is expensive to eat. Breakfast was a standard continental, nothing special.

I would definitely recommend and return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank abwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Lucia Lodge in October 2012, one leg of a 2-week vacation on the west coast. This was by far my favorite part of this trip, and Lucia Lodge is the heart and soul of Big Sur.

We booked late and were unable to get one of the cabins, settling on Room #2. While small, the bed was comfortable, and just waking to that incredible view each morning made the size of the room irrelevant. It is an older inn, so it's well-suited to travelers who truly want to unplug -- No cell service, no TVs, Wi-Fi availability limited (I had left the devices at home, so no worries for me).

The inn offers continental breakfast to its guests, and the restaurant is open to the public for lunch and dinner. We appreciated not having to drive this winding section of the Pacific Coast Highway in the dark and fog, and dined at the lodge in the evenings. The restaurant sits next to the highway, but shares the same fabulous views as you get from the lodge itself.

While not actually in Big Sur (about 20 miles south), it's a good location for exploring California's central coast. We ventured south to Ragged Point, the Elephant Seal Beach, Sand Dollar beach, Hearst Castle and Cambria. To the north, there's Juia Pfeiffer Burns State Park, with a scenic trail, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park (nice hiking trails through the redwoods), the Henry Miller Library, and many other attractions. It's easy to fill your days taking it all in.

While some would find the Lucia Lodge a little rustic, it's well maintained, clean and a nice perch from which to take in the beautiful coastline. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.7 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
20.8 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
530 reviews
22.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
311 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
39.0 mi away
9 Iron Inn
9 Iron Inn
#11 of 24 in Cambria
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Address: 62400 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9533
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $150 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Lucia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing