We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quaint, well-kept older motel in Lucia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lucia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucia Lodge
Save
You added Lucia Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Quaint, well-kept older motel in Lucia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed one night in Oct. and it served our purposes. Nothing spectacular here but the view...and it is spectacular. The rooms are on the older side for sure, but very, very clean with comfortable bed. Noise can definitely be a problem due to the very, very thin walls, but as long as guests know things shutdown early you should get some sleep. Some nice benches and viewpoint to take some wine and a meal and watch the ocean or sunset. Only other thing to know is that it is not in Big Sur proper, so you may have to drive a bit if your dining, etc. elsewhere in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvisinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    136
    45
    23
    21
See reviews for
35
260
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ate lunch at Lucia Lodge last weekend. The food was great. The staff was friendly and the view was outstanding. y wife and I enjoyed a relaxing lunch with our 4 month old daughter. I recommend the fish and chips. The portabella sandwich was excellent as well. Very easy to get to as it is right off of Highway 1.

This was an easy choice as we traveled on Highway 1.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

At first when we drew up I thought what have we come to. But I really yes it's maybe not everyone's choice,but the bed was the best we had slept in all the trip. The food was great as was the setting, yes I would stay there again and yes I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get up early for really hot water to shower in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmate84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We set our hearts on staying in one of 4 cabins overlooking the Pacific and boy did we make the right choice. The cabins are fantastic, well appointed with no television or telephone to disturb you, we spent the late afternoon on the high point behind the cabin sipping champagne as the sunset, plenty of photo opportunities, in the morning we woke to the sound of the ocean washing over the rocks as the sun rose above the mountains. One down point eat before you enter the Big Sur National Park as the food at the lodge leaves a lot to be desired very much a captive audience situation, we were advised by a returning american couple to eat on the way and spend your stay enjoying the view from outside of the cabin, unforgetable. The expensive low quality food aside I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Cabins 7,8,9 and 10 are a must, book very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abwriter
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

For our stay in the Big Sur on our road trip south we wanted to be away from the noise and hassle and boy did we pick the right place.

The Lodge is located in an extremely quiet area on Highway 1 away from campsites, gas stations and convenience stores. When you're there, expect to feel completely isolated from the rest of the world.

We were in Cabin 1 which did look rather like a Bates motel room from the outside! but had a simply amazing view across the big blue of the pacific. The room was basic, phone less, tv-less, wifi limited, but that's exactly what it wants to be. Despite other earlier reviews (anybody else check the worst reviews and get freaked out), the room was extremely clean and tidy and comfy. In fact our bed was one of the most comfy on our whole trip.

We ate in the restaurant and were really impressed by the standard of the food. Sure it was expensive but everywhere along the Big Sur is expensive to eat. Breakfast was a standard continental, nothing special.

I would definitely recommend and return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank abwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkview, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Lucia Lodge in October 2012, one leg of a 2-week vacation on the west coast. This was by far my favorite part of this trip, and Lucia Lodge is the heart and soul of Big Sur.

We booked late and were unable to get one of the cabins, settling on Room #2. While small, the bed was comfortable, and just waking to that incredible view each morning made the size of the room irrelevant. It is an older inn, so it's well-suited to travelers who truly want to unplug -- No cell service, no TVs, Wi-Fi availability limited (I had left the devices at home, so no worries for me).

The inn offers continental breakfast to its guests, and the restaurant is open to the public for lunch and dinner. We appreciated not having to drive this winding section of the Pacific Coast Highway in the dark and fog, and dined at the lodge in the evenings. The restaurant sits next to the highway, but shares the same fabulous views as you get from the lodge itself.

While not actually in Big Sur (about 20 miles south), it's a good location for exploring California's central coast. We ventured south to Ragged Point, the Elephant Seal Beach, Sand Dollar beach, Hearst Castle and Cambria. To the north, there's Juia Pfeiffer Burns State Park, with a scenic trail, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park (nice hiking trails through the redwoods), the Henry Miller Library, and many other attractions. It's easy to fill your days taking it all in.

While some would find the Lucia Lodge a little rustic, it's well maintained, clean and a nice perch from which to take in the beautiful coastline. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the end cottage (#10) and the view was absolutely breathtaking! The cottage was charming. The bed was incredible, one of the most comfortable nights sleep I've had in a while. Very clean. The bathroom was extremely small and shower stall tiny. No cell service, no television, no bottled water in the room. But with a view like that... who cares! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanRust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
19.1 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
22.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Property: Lucia Lodge
Address: 62400 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9533
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing