We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly nice people!”
Review of Lucia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucia Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a tough review because we didn't actually stay inside the lodge, we slept in the car in the parking lot due to highway 1 being closed directly north of the lodge and directly south, so we were pretty much stuck on the highway on the day before Christmas eve with dozens of other stranger and Lucia lodge was completely sold out. However, they were so incredibly nice, they allowed us all to group in their parking lot and kept the lights and the bathrooms open all night long we did interact with the staff. Also, we dined at their restaurant, super long wait as you can imagine tons of stranded holiday travelers needing to eat, and the service there was also great, given the situation they were incredibly nice and considerate. Food was pretty decent as well, it was a bit on the pricey side but it was rather good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank TravelAround24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Lucia Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 405 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was getting dark and I was not willing to drive the PCH anymore so I stopped here. The room accommodates 2 only and was 170. I had a view from room 4. The bed was comfortable, has a comforter and enough pillows. There is a shower stall and the bathroom is basic. The rooms sit on a ledge over looking the ocean. From room 4 there is a view. The lodge is old and has been there forever. There are no lights in this area so you can see all the stars at night. You hear the ocean waves at night, you see the sun come up over the St Lucia mountains and over the pacific ocean in the morning. My description does not give it the glory it truly is. They have internet via satellite and you will get a password to access it. The rooms have no tvs. You are not there to watch tv. The stars at night put on a show for you and in the morning you get a whole new show. Hummingbirds were flying around, whales were playing out in the ocean. Check out isn't until like 1030 take advantage of it. The lodge comes with a continental breakfast that was quite nice served in the restaurant. The restaurant overlooks the ocean also.
I had crab cakes in the restaurant, they were very good and average price. Otherwise I did not eat there. There is a market where you can buy convenient foods, wine or sparkling wine to take to the room.

Room Tip: cabins sit over the ocean and have electric fireplaces with sitting areas. If you are staying more t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiedanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in cabin 8 for three nights over Thanksgiving weekend. Our cabin, although not luxurious, was lovely with a nice sitting area and gas fireplace. The view of the southern Big Sur coast was unforgettable. Each evening we enjoyed the sunset from the small hill behind the cabins with a bottle of wine ( brought from home- the stuff in the store is expensive). The Lucia Lodge was a great base for the hiking we did over the weekend. For dinner we ate at the Lucia Lodge one night ( good but not great). The other two nights we drove about half an hour north to Big Sur proper. One night we ate at Nepenthe's (amazing food and atmosphere) and the other we ate at the Big Sur Inn ( also excellent!) . I would recommend the Lucia Lodge if you are looking for a relaxing stay in Big Sur.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the cabins. I would not stay in the motel style rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a three day stay at the Lucia Lodge. Most of the time we were there it rained, but it was not a huge problem because we were there to relax and the bad weather gave us plenty of chance to do so. We stay in cabin #9 and due to the TA reviews it was just as we expected. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable...and as almost everyone else has noted the view was extraordinary. The bathroom was tiny, but again, from the previous reviews we were not surprised and although it was cramped it was not a problem. The only negative regarding the lodging was the lack of ability to contact the management. We were only two hundred yards away from the store but it's not very convenient to run back and forth if you have an issue and it's pouring rain. Theres no cell service and the pay phone in front of the hotel is out of order. One night during a period of high winds a shutter on one of the units was banging loudly but there was no way to contact anyone to fix the problem. Very frustrating. Other than that we were very happy with our stay.
As I said earlier, the bad weather kept us close to the lodge so we ate at their restaurant twice a day. We thought the breakfast they offered us with our room was ample. No complaints there. We also tried a variety of their lunch offerings including soup, salads and the fish and chips. We thought all the food we ordered was very good but what we really weren't impressed with was the service. Even though we had two different waitresses neither one of them were very attentive. It didn't seem to matter how many people were in the restaurant the service was slow and indifferent.
Other than those service issues we enjoyed our visit and we will likely return for the view.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OldNorCalGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stopped at Lucia Lodge for lunch completely unplanned and had a great lunch. The food was superb and the staff were very accommodating. Can not believe the poor reviews on this place, I had one of the best meals I have had in California here. Well done guys!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank grahamwhite78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have returned to Lucia Lodge three times since I discovered it ten years ago. It provided me and my friends the perfect respite as it is situated along some of the most picturesque and breathtaking coastline of Big Sur. The very fact that it is rustic is its appeal. It is unpretentious and simple. Quiet and calm. Clean and ample. It is very special because it is basic and if you don’t see that, you missed the point. There are many vantage points situated around the property where you can enjoy a variety of vistas of the ocean, the cliffs and the rocks below--where you will see seals perched basking in the sun and hear them barking deep into the still night. The food at the restaurant is very good, there is a very nice breakfast provided that can be enjoyed on the sunny deck overlooking the ocean and the staff is very friendly. The cost is appropriate. I recommend a quiet get-away with your significant other or gathering some of your favorite peeps, reserve a few rooms and enjoy! I've done both and I’ll be back.

Room Tip: I like the four end cabins, but have stayed in the rooms opposite the parking area and the view is s...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheRoad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I chose this lodge for a visit based on its website, which made the place seem like a classy, cozy place.. but what I encountered was an aging roadside motel, with emphasis on "roadside".

This lodge has its restaurant and business office in one building and its lodgings about 800 feet down the road -- *Highway one* -- which means serious traffic when it comes along. One who's not careful could be "roadkill" on their trek from one to the next.

There are a lot of niceties and fundamentals missing. Like clean windows everywhere (they were filthy), or installing real locks on doors. Or putting an ice supply by the rooms. Or posting a sign at the hard-to-see driveway to the rooms. A towel bar might be nice in the bathrooms.

The construction for the cabins is woozy …. I could feel the footsteps of the guest next door like an earthquake. Indeed, in the middle of the night I decided that guy had a dog that was vigorously scratching her ear and shaking the place. In an earthquake these match box cabins might pop off their perches and bounce into the Pacific.

Attitude at the front desk could be better too. Right at sunset at my arrival the restaurant was closed to "change the menus" from lunch to dinner -- forcing customers away during sunset right at 5pm... Really? Give me a bleeping break !!

Discussing this, the girl at the front desk exuded a mood between indifference and amusement.

Wifi was wifty. Not what you want when there's no phone service.

Not remotely coming back. The shabby door locks above all did it.

Room Tip: rooms along the parking area seem to be the problem.. Tho I haven't tried the others !
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.7 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
20.8 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
509 reviews
21.5 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
411 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
19.1 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Address: 62400 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9533
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $150 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Lucia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing