We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby and unsafe.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucia Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shabby and unsafe.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I chose this lodge for a visit based on its website, which made the place seem like a classy, cozy place.. but what I encountered was an aging roadside motel, with emphasis on "roadside".

This lodge has its restaurant and business office in one building and its lodgings about 800 feet down the road -- *Highway one* -- which means serious traffic when it comes along. One who's not careful could be "roadkill" on their trek from one to the next.

There are a lot of niceties and fundamentals missing. Like clean windows everywhere (they were filthy), or installing real locks on doors. Or putting an ice supply by the rooms. Or posting a sign at the hard-to-see driveway to the rooms. A towel bar might be nice in the bathrooms.

The construction for the cabins is woozy …. I could feel the footsteps of the guest next door like an earthquake. Indeed, in the middle of the night I decided that guy had a dog that was vigorously scratching her ear and shaking the place. In an earthquake these match box cabins might pop off their perches and bounce into the Pacific.

Attitude at the front desk could be better too. Right at sunset at my arrival the restaurant was closed to "change the menus" from lunch to dinner -- forcing customers away during sunset right at 5pm... Really? Give me a bleeping break !!

Discussing this, the girl at the front desk exuded a mood between indifference and amusement.

Wifi was wifty. Not what you want when there's no phone service.

Not remotely coming back. The shabby door locks above all did it.

Room Tip: rooms along the parking area seem to be the problem.. Tho I haven't tried the others !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    141
    48
    25
    22
See reviews for
37
272
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic views,and a perfect peaceful place to sit and watch a beautiful sun down, starry night and then sunrise. If ever lucky to be in California again would definitely stay here. But would negotiate a bit more on the price and would also eat before hand as restaraunt food is pretty standard fare.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cavanlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ok Ok yes the views are spectacular ...if you get the end Cabins, but we didnt we got No 3 tucked back in a very run down row of cabins with a peek of the ocean. Very expensive and chilly to say the least. Heater worked but then you couldnt hear yourself speak. Breakfast the usual american sweet bakery products but fresh fruit salad was a nice touch. Beds comfy and clean but cabin creaky and bathroom so small you could not turn round and nowhere at all to put toiletries. Sullen staff who just spoke at you in a robotic fashion. Discount ...? Oh nah we will just give it to next people no competition round here. Sums it up I'm afraid. Rustic - yes, views - yes, convienent - yes, service - no,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in cabin 10 (the furthest one out) for one night during our honeymoon and loved it. We did our research and expected rustic and remote and that is exactly what it is. The room was clean and comfortable and the bed was very nice. Internet is available, but slow. The view was the best part though and worth the night's stay. We followed another reviewer's tip and bought our dinner in Monterey before heading south. Lucia Lodge offers guests continental breakfast in the morning which we found to be very nice, albeit basic. There are also some short hiking trails around the property which is how we kicked off our morning. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Cabin 10 offers a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Lovely spot and the cabins are nice but I think the restaurant needs to raise its game. Had very dry salmon for dinner and stale bagels for breakfast. Overall though, a good place to stay at the southern end of Big Sur (choose Lucia Lodge over Ragged Point for sure).

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

First thing first..the views are absolutely amazing..N secondly..the bread they serve in breakfast is heavenly..:)..
Everything is just perfect..the comfortable bed, soft linens, the cozy fireplace.
There's no internet or phone signal so its just ideal for a romantic retreat..
If I could take 1/2 point off from the rating I would have taken it for the bathroom...Was just too small but we stayed there only for a night so it dint bothered us much..

Room Tip: The ocean view room are just to die for..The view will take your breath away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nehapriyadarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Lucia Lodge cabins might be not 5 starts in terms of hotels standards (expensive bath items, pillow service, room service) but are perfect little romantic cabins with a magnificent view. The rooms are clean, the bed is super comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

- The view is very nice, even from our "partial ocean view cabin" (cabin #1).

- Lucia Lodge is very remote, it's 15-20 minutes past where most Big Sur accommodations are. However I think it is the best location in the area for the view.

- Their restaurant is average in quality and a bit pricey (for what you have) but there are no other options nearby. I would not recommend agings it; it is simply not that great.

- The room itself is not that rustic. It's pretty cute in fact. The bathroom however is quite rustic and could get a little update. The sealant around the sink is broken and the shower curtain the 2$ kind that stick to your legs.

- I recommend this place Lucia Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedHotSly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
19.1 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
22.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#3 of 9 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
20.7 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Property: Lucia Lodge
Address: 62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing