We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“views, views,views”
Review of Lucia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucia Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic views,and a perfect peaceful place to sit and watch a beautiful sun down, starry night and then sunrise. If ever lucky to be in California again would definitely stay here. But would negotiate a bit more on the price and would also eat before hand as restaraunt food is pretty standard fare.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavanlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 410 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ok Ok yes the views are spectacular ...if you get the end Cabins, but we didnt we got No 3 tucked back in a very run down row of cabins with a peek of the ocean. Very expensive and chilly to say the least. Heater worked but then you couldnt hear yourself speak. Breakfast the usual american sweet bakery products but fresh fruit salad was a nice touch. Beds comfy and clean but cabin creaky and bathroom so small you could not turn round and nowhere at all to put toiletries. Sullen staff who just spoke at you in a robotic fashion. Discount ...? Oh nah we will just give it to next people no competition round here. Sums it up I'm afraid. Rustic - yes, views - yes, convienent - yes, service - no,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in cabin 10 (the furthest one out) for one night during our honeymoon and loved it. We did our research and expected rustic and remote and that is exactly what it is. The room was clean and comfortable and the bed was very nice. Internet is available, but slow. The view was the best part though and worth the night's stay. We followed another reviewer's tip and bought our dinner in Monterey before heading south. Lucia Lodge offers guests continental breakfast in the morning which we found to be very nice, albeit basic. There are also some short hiking trails around the property which is how we kicked off our morning. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Cabin 10 offers a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Lovely spot and the cabins are nice but I think the restaurant needs to raise its game. Had very dry salmon for dinner and stale bagels for breakfast. Overall though, a good place to stay at the southern end of Big Sur (choose Lucia Lodge over Ragged Point for sure).

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

First thing first..the views are absolutely amazing..N secondly..the bread they serve in breakfast is heavenly..:)..
Everything is just perfect..the comfortable bed, soft linens, the cozy fireplace.
There's no internet or phone signal so its just ideal for a romantic retreat..
If I could take 1/2 point off from the rating I would have taken it for the bathroom...Was just too small but we stayed there only for a night so it dint bothered us much..

Room Tip: The ocean view room are just to die for..The view will take your breath away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nehapriyadarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Lucia Lodge cabins might be not 5 starts in terms of hotels standards (expensive bath items, pillow service, room service) but are perfect little romantic cabins with a magnificent view. The rooms are clean, the bed is super comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

- The view is very nice, even from our "partial ocean view cabin" (cabin #1).

- Lucia Lodge is very remote, it's 15-20 minutes past where most Big Sur accommodations are. However I think it is the best location in the area for the view.

- Their restaurant is average in quality and a bit pricey (for what you have) but there are no other options nearby. I would not recommend agings it; it is simply not that great.

- The room itself is not that rustic. It's pretty cute in fact. The bathroom however is quite rustic and could get a little update. The sealant around the sink is broken and the shower curtain the 2$ kind that stick to your legs.

- I recommend this place Lucia Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedHotSly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked 3 nights here as part of my hubby's 50th birthday celebration. The views are amazing, and we spent a lot of time in our Adirondack chairs in front of our cabin #8 with a book and a bottle of wine, thoroughly enjoying it. There is no TV and no cell phone service (for Sprint at least), but slow internet is available. The restaurant offers free breakfast for guests, which is a very large continental spread, but the store next door is very expensive. (A single Diet Coke cost $3.25).

The cabins are very comfortable, with a gas fireplace for heat and upscale linens on the beds, as well as a leather sofa in the sitting area. The bathrooms are small, and could use a little updating, but are functional.

Come prepared - we headed back down to Paso Robles (about 4 hours round trip!) and found a grocery store, where we bought a cooler, ice, Cokes, cheese, crackers and salami, as well as some good chips and salsa, so we were able to enjoy our own food and wine. I wish we had known to bring all of this with us ahead of time!

Also be prepared to drive a long way on Hwy 1 to get to the main Big Sur sites. Lucia Lodge is on the southern end, near Limekiln State Park and the New Camaldoli Hermitage, but the Pfeiffer Parks are a good 20+ miles north. Fortunately, the drive is spectacular!

One final tip - the cabins are sheltered from the sunset, and face southeast, due to the curve of the coastline. To watch the sunset itself, we walked around behind the cabins and sat on the big rocks under the Lucia Lodge sign, which was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Cabins 7-10 are the original cabins with the best views. #5-6 have only mountain views, and #1-4 fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.7 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
20.8 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
529 reviews
22.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
311 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
39.0 mi away
9 Iron Inn
9 Iron Inn
#12 of 24 in Cambria
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Address: 62400 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9533
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $150 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Lucia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing