We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little cabins with an great view”
Review of Lucia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucia Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect little cabins with an great view”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Lucia Lodge cabins might be not 5 starts in terms of hotels standards (expensive bath items, pillow service, room service) but are perfect little romantic cabins with a magnificent view. The rooms are clean, the bed is super comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

- The view is very nice, even from our "partial ocean view cabin" (cabin #1).

- Lucia Lodge is very remote, it's 15-20 minutes past where most Big Sur accommodations are. However I think it is the best location in the area for the view.

- Their restaurant is average in quality and a bit pricey (for what you have) but there are no other options nearby. I would not recommend agings it; it is simply not that great.

- The room itself is not that rustic. It's pretty cute in fact. The bathroom however is quite rustic and could get a little update. The sealant around the sink is broken and the shower curtain the 2$ kind that stick to your legs.

- I recommend this place Lucia Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedHotSly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    145
    48
    26
    22
See reviews for
41
280
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked 3 nights here as part of my hubby's 50th birthday celebration. The views are amazing, and we spent a lot of time in our Adirondack chairs in front of our cabin #8 with a book and a bottle of wine, thoroughly enjoying it. There is no TV and no cell phone service (for Sprint at least), but slow internet is available. The restaurant offers free breakfast for guests, which is a very large continental spread, but the store next door is very expensive. (A single Diet Coke cost $3.25).

The cabins are very comfortable, with a gas fireplace for heat and upscale linens on the beds, as well as a leather sofa in the sitting area. The bathrooms are small, and could use a little updating, but are functional.

Come prepared - we headed back down to Paso Robles (about 4 hours round trip!) and found a grocery store, where we bought a cooler, ice, Cokes, cheese, crackers and salami, as well as some good chips and salsa, so we were able to enjoy our own food and wine. I wish we had known to bring all of this with us ahead of time!

Also be prepared to drive a long way on Hwy 1 to get to the main Big Sur sites. Lucia Lodge is on the southern end, near Limekiln State Park and the New Camaldoli Hermitage, but the Pfeiffer Parks are a good 20+ miles north. Fortunately, the drive is spectacular!

One final tip - the cabins are sheltered from the sunset, and face southeast, due to the curve of the coastline. To watch the sunset itself, we walked around behind the cabins and sat on the big rocks under the Lucia Lodge sign, which was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Cabins 7-10 are the original cabins with the best views. #5-6 have only mountain views, and #1-4 fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The view from this hotel is AMAZING. No doubt about it. It's a cute little rustic hotel, but a few upgrades to the bathroom would go a very long way. I don't mind shower stalls, but the thin shower curtain would stick to my legs as I tried to shower. Buying a higher quality curtain with weights on the bottoms would prevent this. Adding much needed shelving in the bathroom is also something they should consider. The food was good, but overpriced. There are a few other restaurants in the area that are the same prce range but much better quality. Overall, it was a good hotel and we were there mostly for the views anyway, so we would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had found this place online and was so excited about spending two nights here. Unfortunately, we could only get one night and not one of the front cabins. Ours was a bit back, but we could still venture around the side, down a path or up a path to get one of those breathtaking views that only Big Sur provides. The cabin was old and rustic, even though it was one of the newer ones. This was fine though...it helped create that quaint and charming affect. Comfortable bed and bathroom was adequate. No TV, but that was okay too. Dinner was pricey and not gourmet, but good. The view was priceless. Breakfast was included and more than adequate. The quaint charm and view makes this a perfect place to spend some time while traveling California's Scenic Route 1. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank popogonggong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Lucia Lodge for one night while driving the Pacific Coast Highway. I saw Lucia Lodge on a wedding blog and thought it was on the Amalfi Coast and was very excited to stay there.
I read a lot of reviews and was concerned about all the negative reviews for the restaurant. We had lunch (fish and chips and the BLT & A) both of which were really good and we were pleasantly surprised.
The Lucia Lodge is in the southern part of Big Sur - so you have to expect the prices to be high because of the remote location. We had dinner reservations at a different hotel about 15 miles away which we ended up cancelling because we didn't want to risk the winding drive through the fog in the dark - so we ate at the Lucia Lodge restaurant. It wasn't the best - and definitely not as good as lunch was and was again pricey, but there really are no other places to go unless you drive at least 15 miles north or south.

The rooms were rustic and charming. We stayed in cabin #9. We bought an over priced bottle of local wine from the lodge store (all part of the experience, so worth it) and sat outside our cabin in adirondak chairs before dinner watching the sun set and the fog roll in (we saw dolphins and whales in the ocean). It was one of my favorite memories from the trip.
After dinner we retired to our room which had a little gas stove/heater which was both romantic and functional during the chilly night. The next morning we woke up to the sound of the waves crashing below the cliff the cabins sit on. It was exactly what we wanted from our vacation, a beautiful and remote location, with charming lodging.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RhettSCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

After traveling down the Big Sur coastline and checking out the beautiful views, we were glad to pull into the Lucia Lodge after a full day of touring. The facility consists of a restaurant and general store where you check in for your room, and about a quarter mile away a series of cottages cut into the mountain side overlooking the coast line. Not all the cottages or rooms overlook the ocean, but most do. The rooms were very clean and the cottages seemed well maintained. Of course there is no TV as this lodge is off the grid. Power comes from a generator located more than a mile away, but there is satellite furnished wifi. Staying at the lodge includes a very nice continental breakfast. You really have to eat supper here as well as the nearest restaurant is either a half hour North or 20 minutes South. Because this is a remote location, supper tends to be a bit pricey from $21 up for entrees. It is possible to eat appetizers and share a large Caesar salad to hold costs down. I found the food to be good and well prepared, but not gourmet. You won’t find a more spectacular view from a room at the Lucia Lodge, and I’d return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Soooooo adorable, so majestic with the amazing location and views that this sweet and wonderfully old, yet kept up, motel offers. We only had one night in Big Sur and didn't want to be stuck up away from the water and hidden in the trees, because we didn't have any time to explore the coast on foot. We wanted a place that we could soak it all in from the comfort of our front porch. And that's exactly what Lucia offers! The bed in #7 was super comfy and we slept soundly. The breakfast that is included is simple but welcome. Definitely a must!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarapapad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
19.1 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,131 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,170 reviews
20.8 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
305 reviews
22.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
401 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Property: Lucia Lodge
Address: 62400 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9533
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Lucia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing