We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view, average food/service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant at Ventana

The Restaurant at Ventana
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Ventana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Restaurant at Ventana is situated 1200 feet above the rugged Big Sur coast with views of the Pacific Ocean. The culinary team is lead by Executive Chef Paul Corsentino, who uses only the freshest, organic ingredients to create simple cuisine with vibrant flavors. His menus are driven by his commitment to supporting the local farming community. Chef Corsentino's experience is brought to life in each daily menu he creates. Chef and his team are known for daring and diverse foods with inventive recipes both comforting and decadent, offering something for every palate. A locally inspired, sommelier selected wine list offers many options for food and wine pairings. Seasonal cocktails and California craft beers are available to enjoy in the cozy lounge area or outdoors next to the grand fireplace.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing view, average food/service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We ate lunch here with my in-laws and my children. Beautiful resturant. We felt ignored by our wait staff. They were actually almost rude. The lettuce wraps were very good. My wine pour was the smallest I've had In years and the kids burgers were very dry and our bill was outrageous. I'm having a hard time giving this place 3 stars but again beautiful spot with outstanding view!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    134
    61
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We ate here one night whilst staying at the Post Ranch Inn. We sat inside as it was a bit of a cool night. The meal was delicious and the service was top notch. The only down side was that I read that the crème brulee was to die for. I found it not so nice - quite lumpy with a rough texture. But apart from that - everything was fantastic and we had an enjoyable dinner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jane02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventana M, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this review, November 29, 2016
Thank you for joining us for Lunch, we are glad to read that our food and service was of your liking, we look forward to host you again.

Best Regards
MF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Comfortable and beautiful lunch and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went to the Ventana for lunch and drinks on the patio outside. First, the staff at the restaurant is so laid back and nice. Lunch is so relaxed and you can stay as long as you want. The food is excellent! Oysters ($3.50 each) are fresh. The pulled chicken sandwich ($16) was very good. The bill will be up there but this is a "build it and they will come" place. The view is spectacular and that makes the time pass so slowly. Every time we are in Big Sur we go to the Ventana for lunch. We highly recommend stopping here. Do not worry about it looking exclusive. It is totally inviting. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJOYNC2CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventana M, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this review, November 29, 2016
Thank you for joining us for Lunch, we are glad to read that our food and service was of your liking, we look forward to host you again.

Best Regards
MF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Big Sur Restaurant with a beautiful View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We are a family of 5 and we at lunch at Ventana. The view is amazing and the food was VERY good.

The setting is beautiful and very peaceful.

The servers were all very friendly (somewhat unique in this area of California).

Definitely go here if you are in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventana M, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this review, November 29, 2016
Thank you for joining us for Lunch, we are glad to read that our food and service was of your liking, we look forward to host you again.

Best Regards
MF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good food with attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Highly recommend Ventana for a dining option while in Big Sur. Gorgeous patio with views that go forever.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Ventana also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing