We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, flavorful and a view to boot!”

The Restaurant at Ventana
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Restaurant at Ventana is situated 1200 feet above the rugged Big Sur coast with views of the Pacific Ocean. The culinary team is lead by Executive Chef Paul Corsentino, who uses only the freshest, organic ingredients to create simple cuisine with vibrant flavors. His menus are driven by his commitment to supporting the local farming community. Chef Corsentino's experience is brought to life in each daily menu he creates. Chef and his team are known for daring and diverse foods with inventive recipes both comforting and decadent, offering something for every palate. A locally inspired, sommelier selected wine list offers many options for food and wine pairings. Seasonal cocktails and California craft beers are available to enjoy in the cozy lounge area or outdoors next to the grand fireplace.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

MOTHER's DAY!!! Extraordinary view, great attentive service! But the brunch meal was the best ever. Swordfish on a delicate bed of peas, mint and watercress. My husband ordered the Cuban sandwich -- which he loved! My mother ordered the mushroom omelette, which came with grilled potatoes. The wine selection is superb - crisp Storrs and Rombauer for brunch. Be sure to make reservations if the weather is warm and you want an outside table. This is a great value for the view, meal and service. Heaven!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SavorySweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your Mother's Day Brunch. This is a menu option we hope to offer on select weekends in the future. Good to hear that you enjoyed the local" Storrs wine. The swordfish is wonderful dish that has been very popular. I encourage you to come back again and try our catch of the day that we receive from local fishermen here in Monterey Bay. Our team looks forward to your next visit.

Regards-
Ron Boehm, Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for The Restaurant at Ventana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 273 of 515 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We just happened to turn in here when driving up the coast, what a great surprise!! Stunning view... Really breathtaking! Beautiful grounds and nicely setup terrace so that you have a view from every table! AND the food was great too! Nicely presented, great options and everything was super fresh and tasted great! Will have to come back here one day! Seems like the inn would be a great place to stay for an escape from it all as well!

Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for stopping by and having lunch with us. So glad to hear it was a positive experience.
Kind Regards- Ron Boehm, Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Ventana has a new chef, who, as chefs will, very recently changed the menu. We are long-time fans of Ventana, both of the restaurant and the Inn, where we stay a couple of times per year. We tend to take a day lunch trip to the restaurant about once a month, to enjoy the strikingly peaceful view (miles of ocean, eagles swooping, and deer grazing in the poppy fields).

This past weekend we were so disappointed to find our favorite items--the hummus appetizer and the gardenburger--missing. When we asked our waiter, he replied, "yes, we have a new menu and it is Much Better!" But, alas, we disagreed.

As a vegetarian, like many of those of us who live within driving distance of Ventana, it can be difficult to find healthy food that's not entombed in fat. Many diners and mid-range restaurants offer as vegetarian options a portabello sandwich (an acquired taste I've never acquired, sadly), a rich pasta dish or a salad, and something cheesy. Whereas before the change, Ventana offered the incredible, renowned quinoa-black bean burger and a really exceptional hummus/babaganoush appetizer, now they offer a portabello sandwich (see?), a salad (!), the babaganoush alone, and fettucini with alfredo sauce (!!). Vegetarians need protein, too, without all the fat from cheese, and there sure are a LOT of us in California, particularly in the Bay Area. Vegans could have the babaganoush or the steamed asparagus spears (hold the cheese), or the ever-present salad-hold-the-cheese. Alas. The gorgeous setting lends one's spirit to soar, and perhaps one's expectations to rise.

My husband, who's a carnivore, enjoyed his chicken sandwich-without-the-bread (he has a gluten allergy, and Ventana no longer has gluten-free bread), but also regretted the lack of quinoa-black bean burger and hummus (his favorite menu items, as well). They were the best we've had anywhere. Oh, please bring them back. Otherwise, next time we visit, we'll have to bring our own lunch! Horrors!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

We appreciate your feedback and are so sorry that you are disappointed with some of the changes taking place. It is always a challenge for a new chef to find the right balance of keeping some favorites and infusing some of his own signature ideas into creating menus. While we are not a vegetarian restaurant, the team is always open to accommodate special requests to the best of our abilities. Looking forward to seeing you soon and giving you a better experience!
Kind Regards- Ron Boehm, Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

While staying at Ventana Inn, we enjoyed this restaurant two mornings for breakfast and had room service dinner one evening. The food was fantastic and the restaurant was so charming! The dinner delivered to our room arrived hot and delicious. I had the pasta with mushrooms and my husband had the swordfish dinner. Both entrees were wonderful! The continental breakfast included in our room package was incredible! The walk to breakfast on the gorgeous nature trail made the experience even better. Local berries, scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, oatmeal, juice, and more items are included in the continental breakfast if you are staying at the hotel. Enjoying breakfast in this magical little restaurant overlooking the Pacific was the perfect way to start the day! I highly recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank grlgrdgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you so much for providing such wonderful feedback regarding the food services at Ventana. We are thrilled that each and every encounter was so positive and that the food was to your liking. Our team looks forward to your next visit!
Ron Boehm, Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Terrific food in a beautiful setting. The wine list and sommelier are truly excellent, the highlight of the meal. Specials were delicious, very fresh fish. Service was a little slow, but it was a very nice dinner. If you're staying here, you can walk to dinner and they'll drive you back in the Range Rover!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hrs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventana M, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

Thank you for joining us for Lunch, we are glad to read that our food and service was of your liking, we look forward to host you again.

Best Regards
MF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Ventana also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing