We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Views; weak service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Mar

Sierra Mar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $120
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: High atop the cliffs, offering breathtaking views is Sierra Mar, winner of Wine Spectator's prestigious Grand Award. Offering an unconventional fine dining experience, Executive Chef John Cox presents inquisitive food creations featuring ingredients highlighted by a sense of place and culture. Selections from the award-winning wine cellar enhance the innovative, inspired cuisine.
Dallas
Level Contributor
283 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Views; weak service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a great lunch here for our 35th. Wonderful table. Spectacular view. Multiple courses with matching wines. Reasonable price for lunch. Service was attentive, but our server had memorized some descriptions without understanding it. When I asked about an ingredient, she could not respond. One of the wines was delicious, and I asked for its name. She gave a long description of it as Spanish and its characteristics. I pointed out the label said Italian, and she disagreed. Later she returned to give the correct info. This was not a big deal, but the restaurant is excellent in all areas except service. I'm sure it's hard to get great servers in a remote area like this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpatter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    134
    70
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the Big Sur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Nice food, beautiful location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great gift shop with lots of choice

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa81812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb View, Superb Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

"Sierra Mar" is a unique coastal dining experience that is all it is touted to be and more.

Extraordinary location perched on a cliff overhanging the blue Pacific. If you're limo-ed in from another hotel, as we were from Ventana Inn across the way, you will be graciously welcomed at the Post Ranch Inn entrance, and then it's a steep narrow exterior stairway climb up to Sierra Mar itself.

We savored the 9-course "Taste of Big Sur" Menu proffered by then newly-returned Executive Chef John Cox who'd come back to head the kitchen where he'd apprenticed when his long-time mentor retired.

Highly creative, flavor-intensive seasonal offerings artistically presented zen-style to entice the eye and seduce the palate.

Unfortunately, night dining precludes experiencing the vaunted sparkling, spuming ocean panorama because you only glimpse your own window reflection by dim candlelight, even when you're fortunate enough, as we were, to score one of the three premium window corner tables hanging out over the wave-dashed rocks below.

However, you can dally with drinks on the spacious outside patio to enjoy the splendor of the ocean sunset before dinner, albeit you may reel a bit from the fuel fumes wafting off the large firepit whose warming seating you may have chosen. In which case, you can seek refuge at the lively bar area inside the restaurant and do your sunset oooh-ing from that vantage point.

This will undoubtedly be your premier Big Sur foodie event. The tariff is steep indeed, especially if you opt for the Wine Pairing, which we did .... but it will be memorably worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“gorgeous and delicious but a bit complicated too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

You won't find a more beautiful restaurant in a more spectacular setting with a more incredible view anywhere in the world (well maybe vista palace outside monaco). The food is just as special with homegrown vegetables, spices and the best quality of everything. Nothing is simple or basic which can make ordering difficult but the ingredients are all top notch and everything was delicious !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Views are breathtaking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I dined at Sierra Mar for my 30th birthday a couple weekends ago. It truly was an amazing experience and time seemed to stop there. We sat at a table by the window and took a million pictures. The food was delicious and the presentation was top notch, however the views/location alone make the money worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank awonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sierra Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing