We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ragged Point so helpful”
Review of Ragged Point

Ragged Point
Ranked #6 of 35 things to do in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ragged Point so helpful”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

On holiday from New Zealand we were driving from Monterey to LA late December 2013 when our 9 year old became very car sick. We pulled in to Ragged Point where he proceeded to projectile vomit all over the car park. A wonderful man by the name of Rori came running out from the restaurant armed with a bucket of water and paper towels telling us not to worry as this was fairly common on this stretch of road !! He was so helpful even bringing us out some dry crackers. We stayed at this point for a couple of hours while we all changed and settled our 9 year olds stomach. Sadly the experience wasn't over for us as our child continued to be sick all the way to LA but we were exceptionally grateful to Rori for that stop along the way. Would stop there again if we drove that road again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SLAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    59
    15
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh my god.. such a lovely place”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stopped by on our way to north side of Big Sur.. such a lovely place with a cafe, restaurant, gas station, mini market, small hikes to the ocean, lots of birds, butterflies, flowers, and what not.
We stopped by on both ways to Big Sur.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OMG. One of the most beautiful views you will ever see.”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great views. Wonderful stop along the coastal highway 1. Certain times of the year you can watch the elephant seals mate. I love this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redmansunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great views to use the restrooms”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stop here every now and then. The views are great and that's about it. The food is barely average nothing to write home about. The service is, well I guess that's why this place lacks what it could be! Give it a try...share something so your not too disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1lolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice stop on coast drive”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Always a welcome stop on the drive up Hwy 1, whether it is just for a stretch, some gas or food.
People are nice and looks like a nice place to stay if you want to extend your time driving to Carmel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeeandGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragged Point also viewed

 

Been to Ragged Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing