We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, Breathtaking, Fun Drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ragged Point

Ragged Point
Ranked #6 of 32 things to do in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing, Breathtaking, Fun Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Amazing, Breathtaking, Fun Drive, and depeding on your carrier, you may even loose mobile phone coverage for a while. Now that's an added bonus to the breathtaking natural beauty all around you. Ragged Point Inn is worth a stop, get gas, grab some snacks, have a meal, walk the excitingly steep path to the rocks below, maybe even spend the night. It's a first class area to drive, experience the scenic beauty of the California coast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank charles847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    54
    15
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stop, awesome place to spend a day or two!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to Ragged Point for a wedding, and it was an amazing venue for a beautiful wedding and a wonderful place to spend the night! Our room was very nice, fireplace, jetted tub, very clean with a great view. The grounds and the ocean/mountain views are breath taking! Well worth the drive. Next time we head down Hwy 1 this will be our pit stop and hopefully lodging for a night or two.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ana-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great rest stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Title says it all. Great views, a nice garden to sit and rest in quiet, and also loads of monarch butterflies everywhere. Also for the adventurous there's a steep path that looks like it goes down to the beach.

But don't stop here for gas. It's at least 20% more expensive than normal. Can't blame them, as it's hard to get it up there, and they're the only gas station for miles. Get yours in Cambria or San Simeon before you start heading North, should last you until Carmel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Phenomenal views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Along the route 1 ride you'll see fantastic awesome scenes of wave crashing on the jagged rocks. This site captures the beauty of nature. Stop in and enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my second Hwy1 trip. I told my friends that we must make a stop here for rest and for the view! we were amazed by the view and the landscape. There's also restroom for you to refresh yourself.

The snack bar is ok and has standard stuff.

The gas price here is doubled e.g. one pays about $3.80 +/- per gallon at San Luis Obispo or Monterey, and at Rugged Point, it's $6.80 (if i recalled correctly) per gallon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragged Point also viewed

 

Been to Ragged Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing