We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service as good as the view!”
Review of Ragged Point

Ragged Point
Ranked #6 of 34 things to do in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service as good as the view!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just stopped in for coffee & ice cream after a day of hiking, so I can't really speak about their food (though the menu looked delicious). The view is spectacular & our hostess & server were top notch. It was a much more relaxed atmosphere here than at Nepenthe (a few miles to the South...about the same price range, and way too crowded), but not so relaxed as some of the places in between (basically bars with bar food).

I really enjoyed this place and would like to revisit for a meal next year when I'm in Big Sur.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pebbleinmyshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    57
    15
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
monterey CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem worth stopping for”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Midway between Treebones Resort and Hearst Castle in southern Big Sur is Ragged Point. I stop there a few times a year on business and always encounter friendly people and (except for when it's foggy), great views. I have seen it expand the last 40 years from a general store with gas station to a fabulous Inn equipped with many rooms and facilities for a killer wedding. Stop, see, hike, grab coffee recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hawthornenepenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Georgous view!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is a must see stop along Hwy.1. The views are beautiful and they have a nice path to the lookout point where you can take nice sunset shots. The gardens were beautiful and there are two places to eat. Either casual from the outdoor grill or inside in the restaurant. We have done both and the food has always been good. Don't miss stopping here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,211 reviews
392 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
“Great Rest Stop”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We drove from Monterey to Hearst Castle and back. We stopped at Ragged Point to stretch our legs, to use the restrooms and to have lunch. We decided to order from the outdoor cafe. It goofed OK burgers and fries. The main dining room did not open until noon so keep this in mind. We then took one of their trail walks. The views are stunning from up here. Ragged Point is neat and tidy with lovely gardens. From the outside the motel looks cozy. They have a small store, gift store, art gallery and gas station.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, but expensive rooms and gas!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We looked into staying at the Ragged Point Inn on our way up the PCH, but rooms were a little pricey. Understandably so, as the views are unbeatable! Ragged Point is a great little place to stop to stretch your legs, get a coffee and enjoy the views. It is NOT the place to fill up your car. Gas was $6 a gallon! Otherwise, cute little place worth the stop!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuggy0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragged Point also viewed

 

Been to Ragged Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing