We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Sur Roadhouse

Big Sur Roadhouse
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: During the summer months, MST Transit offers bus service to Big Sur. The bus stops right at the Big Sur River Inn! For schedules and more information, visit www.mst.org
Description: The Big Sur Roadhouse features delicious California cuisine with fresh, local ingredients. In keeping with our Big Sur ethos, the seasonal menu is filled with locally sourced organic ingredients. Also, not to be missed, San Francisco designer Steve Justrich's "homegrown modernism" has transformed the Roadhouse into a truly unique and fitting environment for dining in Big Sur. Please stop by for coffee, a glass of wine, a snack or make a reservation for a full meal.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The staff are very pleasant and welcoming and helpful. The decor is excellent - understated elegance. The food is good but could be better by keeping the food more simple - too many flavours going on one plate!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fairbr0ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    93
    24
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exceeds your expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Far from any big city you don't expect to find any great food but here we found it, that and very pleasant service and ambiance.
We had a light lunch here expecting to get a run of the mill ham sandwich but we were really pleasantly surprised with the quality and the variety of the food. I had the Swiss chard and baby gem chop salad and it was really fresh and plentiful. I also ordered the rice and beans plate and the sausage that came mixed in gave a normally ordinary plate a richness that is beyond believe for such a simple plate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank famhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stayed at a high end hotel overlooking the ocean, but focused on the smaller and less expensive restaurants for dinners. Truly enjoyed this one -- thoughtful menu and good wine list consistent with the menu. At the side of the road, but well screened from the traffic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California, United States
Level Contributor
383 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“good food, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

In my ratings 3=meets expectations. 4=exceeds, 5= blown away. I rarely give 5. Expectations are based on experience with similar establishments at similar price point.
Service was just fine. Wedenesday 7pm, few other patrons when we arrived. Seated promptly. Our server Michael was VERY friendly to the point of being cloying. That seemed to click fine with the nearby couple. Good descriptions of the menu, and the service frequency was just right.
Food: I really liked my blackened cod. My wife was OK with the fried chicken, but she struggled to get vegitables she liked - they were quite non-standard. I enjoyed mine and hers thoroughly.
Value: Is there "value" in this region? I imagine that operating expenses are high, but the portions were quite modest, which seems unnecessary. They tried to charge me $12 for a single draft beer rather than the $6 listed on the menu. The bill was corrected promptly, but no one seemed aghast or particularly sorry.
Atmosphere: It's a nice little place, well decorated. We sat inside because there was a bit of chill outside and, as others have noted, the outside seating, while welll-screened visually, is subject to highway noise. The doors and some windows were open so we had a steady stream of wayward flies and gnats banging on the inside of the window at which we sat.
The next night we dined at Rocky Point Restaurant and had a much better experience for a little less money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A gem in Big Sur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Well appointed restaurant with outdoor patios out front (with fire pit) and back. Stop by for breakfast, lunch or dinner and you'll be happy with the interesting mix of California and creole offerings. The biscuit sandwich is a perfect way to fuel up before going on a hike.

I had dinner there and the catch of the day was a black cod which just melted in your mouth.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank brianysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing