We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch at this end of the road cafe”

Whale Watchers Cafe
Ranked #20 of 23 Restaurants in Big Sur
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Reviewed June 12, 2018

We hiked and stayed nearby Whale Watchers Cafe recently. We had a regular burger and fish burger and both were very good. To top it off, we actually had two humpback whales frolic right off the coast in front of the cafe for almost the entirety of our lunch!

Come on!? Really? They must have an agreement with the whales! haha. But it was very cool to see!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 692troyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 344 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2018

Gorda is located at the extreme southern end of Highway 1 in terms of the road closure due to a huge landslide. You can not access it from the south (ie, from Ragged Point). These poor folks are struggling for customers, so we made the journey to have lunch there even though we were staying at another place in Big Sur further north. We had a lovely, welcoming waiter. I'm vegan, so they altered one of their vegetarian sandwiches for me, and I wasn't disappointed. My partner had a spicy burger which he really enjoyed. Don't be put off by the reviews. ALL of Big Sur is 'over priced' as they have to truck in all their goods. This is a remote place. They still don't know when the few miles of Highway 1 where the landslide occurred will be open. Possibly in September. Give these folks in Gorda a break. Visit, buy gas, souvenirs, have a meal and book a night or two in their cabins.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank juliewren2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Terrible place. Incredibly overpriced ($4.50 for a draft coke which wasn't even a full cup). The female behind the bar was the rudest person we have met on any trip abroad. How she is still there despite reviews is beyond me. Please don't make the same mistake we did - avoid this awful place!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Excursion661734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

We were so warmly welcomed for dinner at this cafe and the staff attend to us with great care. I had the special which was calamari, abalone-style and completely delicious. My husband had the vegetarian fajitas also delicious and a very generous portion. We sat outside at sunset and were enchanted by the view! We will definitely return here next time we are touring the PCH!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cat_and_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017

cute little dinner looking place and in a good spot right off HWY 1, but the food taste like something from a hospital cafeteria and it took forever for us to get food.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whale Watchers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing