We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If you get the opportunity to eat here, pass it up!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Whale Watchers Cafe

Whale Watchers Cafe
Ranked #20 of 21 Restaurants in Big Sur
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you get the opportunity to eat here, pass it up!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place is NOT ADA compliant. There are steps in front of all the entrances. Kinda hard to get an electric scooter in the dining room. The bathroom floors were wet. There was a water jug sitting on the sink to rinse your hands. The roof in the dining room was leaking on one of the chairs at our table. The waitress was very friendly and the service was pretty good. The menu had some pretty good choices but the prices were waaayyyyy out there for the value received. My wife and I decided to split a captain's plate and a bowl of chowder. Our friends split the fish and chips and a bowl of chowder. We had only water to drink. It cost more than $80.00! When I mentioned that the portions were pretty small for the price, I was told I could order another one if I was still hungry. I wouldn't stop here again on a bet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    41
    67
    54
    115
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice view. mediocre food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Super cute place. Diner menu. We got the fish and chips. The fish was good. The chips, not so good. Nice view. If you care about every meal you eat and are not in the mood for diner food, keep on going. If you're more flexible that way ... check it out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is just nasty. Taste is horrible, service awful and prices unbelievably high! One veggie lasagne, one hamburger, one pasta and 3 sodas ended up at $ 82 and yes, they do add gratituity automatically on the bill. THIS IS THE WORST PLACE I EVER SET MY FOOT IN! The person named CallDee that give positive remarks below must be an employee (that should be unemployed as it should close...)!

Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you like being disappointed this place is for you!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were on our way to San Luis Obispo when we came upon this place. It looks like a cool restaurant, with a beautiful view. This is obviously what gets people in the door. The disappointment began as soon as we walked in. The waitresses were not very friendly. Not a smile. Not a welcome or a hello. After asking if it was open seating, we were told to sit wherever we wanted. We sat outside facing the ocean. The view is great. And the weather on this particular day was excellent. The weather is the only thing that kept us from walking out, and the fact that this place seems to have very little competition in terms of other restaurants in the area. After sitting down, nobody acknowledged our presence. We had to go up and get the menus ourselves. After a quick glance at the menus you immediately realize that the prices are outrageous. Ridiculous. We waited way too long for someone to take our order. Once we placed our order, it took way too long for the food to arrive. This was odd and frustrating because it was not that busy. Once the food did arrive, the disappointment continued. The food was way below average, which is unforgivable in any restaurant, but more so for this one due to the prices that they charge. I advise everyone to keep on driving unless, of course, you like being disappointed and throwing your money away.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Disregard reviews...really good! Ask for the homemade cheesecake!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Upon reading the reviews I was quite hesitant on stopping. We were starving and decided to risk it. We ordered the captain's plate and the steak...it was surprisingly good. After the meal we ordered a slice of the home made cheesecake...ohhh man this is definitely something you need to try AMAZING!! The sunset is wonderful and the restaurant has a lot of history! Definitely a place to make a stop.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whale Watchers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing