We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and views”

Lucia Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food and views”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Food was good. Appeared to be all local grown. Little pricey, however not much around and good. You will not have a fast meal. So be prepared for a full meal with time to enjoy. Weather permitting sit outside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillNHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    121
    46
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost as good as a gas station hotdog”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The view and service were excellent, but the food was very disappointing. I got the cod, which was bland and did not taste very fresh. My wife got the risotto which was also pretty awful. Not the worst meal ever, but very disappointing for 80$.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg_DeCelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food and great view”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had lunch here on our drive from SF to Cambria. We were able to get a table on the lower outside patio, with a great view. It was really busy with only 1 server for the patio--she did her best! We split a veggie sandwich and a turkey sandwich--both were excellent and huge. The only negative comment, which is what brought down my overall rating is that there is only one restroom for the entire restaurant, which is outside. There was a line when I went up, so I didn't stay. I can understand the outside facility for the store patrons and travelers, but there should be an inside facility for the restaurant customers. The food isn't cheap.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great setting, average food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We ate here because we were staying at Lucia Lodge and didn't want to drive. Food was average but the setting and service were charming

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sizzlemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Refueling stop”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have never stayed here, but always stop here to buy food when in Big Sur as there's no other convenience stop for miles in either direction. The turn off to New Camaldoli Hermitage is a mile or two down south, make sure to visit.

The convenience store has a good selection of food/drinks/souvenirs, but it's crazily overpriced. Only locally done cookies/cakes are reasonably priced, but expect to pay around $4 for a small water or coke.

The views from the restaurant seem stunning. The place has a real frontier feel to it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Zael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lucia Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing