We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch with a view!”

Lucia Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
abu dhabi, united arab emirates
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great lunch with a view!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Anyone who has driven big sur knows you should stop often to give your head a rest from the windy roads. This place was in the right place at the right time. We really enjoyed the lunch and the view was amazing. They served us quickly even though they were so busy and we did not have reservations. We sat on the top floor and ordered california sandwiches and mushroom soup. Really good and great coffee with a beautiful view of the coast. Very polite people. Try to take change or charge on card because when they run out of change they can't just run to the bank to get more.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    121
    46
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendid !!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We're from the UK, travelling on Highway 1 with 4 adults & one child on a California roadtrip. All is great, we're munching up the miles in our hire car & the child decides he NEEDS the loo right now !! Ok, we'll stop at the next convenient pull-in......fortunately for us it was Lucia Lodge !! Wow !! A lovely lady took us out to eat on the terrace over looking the ocean. I can't actually describe the magnitude of the experience....it was stunning, beautiful, the food was great & the staff were SO friendly. Would not hesitate to stop there again if we're ever fortunate to travel that route.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype.”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were staying in Big Sur and decided to try out Lucia Lodge for lunch. There aren't a ton of places in Big Sur, so the prices are going to be higher no matter what you are buying. That really wasn't the issue here. The place itself is cute, and the view would be amazing on a normal day. We were there on a foggy day, which was unfortunate but not the reason for the 3-star rating. In fact, that is part of the reason it didn't receive a lower rating. I ordered the fish and chips and my boyfriend ordered the burger. There was nothing really wrong with either meal, but there wasn't anything spectacular either. The claim on the menu was that the fish and chips was "award winning". I don't know who was handing out the award, but they must have been comparing it to McDonald's and BK. It was fine but bland. The breading and crispiness of the fish was nice, but there was no seasoning and the tartar sauce was average. If you are really hungry and just need a decent bite with a nice view, this place will suffice. If you want something more delicious, head down the road to the restaurant at Treebones resort.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunkissedfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great & interesting menu”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

A stay at Lucia Lodge is not complete without dinner and breakfast at the Restaurant. Fine menu, well-prepared food, and collegial environment. Pleasant to walk along the highway after a satisfying meal

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank merryole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“$7 drip coffee”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Beware. $7 cup of drip coffee. Most expensive cup of drip coffee in my entire life.

Helpful?
1 Thank AZVIAJERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lucia Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing