We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and Service The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant

Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Redding, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food and Service The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The service here is incredibly fast and efficient. Breakfasts are hearty and well prepared. Good coffee.

This is a historic property and has incredible charm. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    114
    36
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Come here for an AMAZING breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The inn was full so we did not get to stay here which was a bummer- so we decided to eat breakfast here - and it was by far the best breakfast I ever had EVER.
I had the stuffed french toast and my friend had the eggs benedict with avocado. We shared 1/2 with each other- both dishes were so delicious! I wish I would have stayed another day in Big Sur so I could have had breakfast here again!!

I also got to meet Fabio (the cat behind the blog!) - he was a little sleepy but understandable ... I was there very early.

The wait staff was understaffed but despite this- they still gave us excellent service.

Don't pass this up if you are in the area ... seriously.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MinaNYC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This place is sooooo pretty. The gardens surrounding the property are beautiful and I just loved the homey feel of the restaurant. It was warm and inviting. The food was good and the service was excellent. A beautiful little hideaway. I wish I could have stayed here! I will try if I'm ever up this way again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Yummy & Cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was in heaven to see I could order a 1/2 eggs benedict and 1 blueberry pancake. Delish. Quaint throwback in time kind of place and great people watching.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
247 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Eat at Deetjen's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

If your staying at the Big Sur Inn you are lucky to have this very nice restaurant steps away from your cabin. Deetjen's offers many unique menu choices. I expected hamburgers and French fries and I had a wonderful rack of lamb, and an excellent soup of the day for dinner. The restaurant was very comfortable, like the Inn, and featured a great fireplace on a cool evening on the coast. The breakfast was wonderful, and they modified their menu to support our needs. The staff was attentive and helpful both at dinner and in the morning breakfast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing