We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant

Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at the inn and woke up to a yummy breakfast with my girlfriend. The french toast and the egg's Benedict were delicious. Very cozy... Good place for a couple.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    110
    34
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and old style decor with classical music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We dined here with family who were staying. The food was great and our server suggested a great bottle of red. It was a bit surreal for us cousins from Worcestershire to dine in Big Sur to the sound of Elgar. The restaurant runs through the downstairs rooms with some open fires, an intimate ambience and lots of anitquey gewgaws.

It's expensive. It's good. I get the impression from reviews that Brunch is good value if you want to go there on a tighter budget.

We were glad to staying at Ripplewood as its great value and the Deetjens cabins are close together and close to the road.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlowingG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Amazing food but pricey. We really enjoyed our meal but I have to say that they're house cat that roams around the restaurant while patrons are eating dinner really grossed me out. Minus that bit, it was excellent. Roasted garlic and paella were awesome!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank trojanheart05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two for two good food experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have gone to Deetjen's twice for dinner over a 2+ year period and was not disappointed either time. A bit pricey but worth it ..Service great and gracious, food also matched the service. Had duck 2 years ago and was great, this time the veggie pasta dish was the special of the night and nothing was left in my plate - very good. Originally recommended by a friend from Santa Cruz and her recommendation was a good one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Deetjen's for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When I asked where should I go for breakfast everyone said "Deetjen's" So glad I listened!! We ended up eating breakfast at Deetjen's two days in a row. Their eggs benedict are the best I've ever had anywhere...so good! The husband and I shared our benedicts and added a side of chicken apple sausage and bacon.. both times were absolutely delicious. The restaurant is one of the most charming restaurants I've ever been to and it's full of interesting history. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Price is reasonable. Just go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MlovesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing