We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated Cuisine in the Middle of Nowhere”

Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Armonk, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Cuisine in the Middle of Nowhere”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were not expecting anything great in food outside of the Post Ranch and Ventana Lodge in Big Sur, but Deetjen's was a wonderful surprise. Terrific old world atmosphere in a rustic, low ceilinged lodge-like building. Beautifully lit, with small, but comfortable tables. Excellent service, and someone in the kitchen who pays attention to the details. Beautifully presented, and delicious. Loved this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ppost69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    114
    36
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So charming and so tasty we went twice!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Delightful atmosphere and the true spirit of Big Sur can be found in this dusty gem! We came here for breakfast and dinner during our stay... Deetjen's was built entirely by the original owners as a labor of love and it shows in the decor, gardens, and vibe of the staff. You will find the best blueberry pancakes on the planet here in the morning and an elegant candlelit table setting for a romantic evening dinner. Wonderful steak and fine rustic dinner options make set the perfect mood. Must stop in at least once... But my lady and I recommend a double dose of Deetjen's!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FullStacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This place came highly recommended by one of the locals we spoke to the night before. The chicken apple sausage was amazingly good, my partner had the hollandaise sauce which was also super delicious! They also had sugar cubes for our coffee... loved it. This quaint homey atmosphere is perfect Big Sur kind of experience! Don't miss out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyC4SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“expensive, good, atmospheric”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wonderful atmosphere, woodsy. Pricey, like every where here. Can be romantic, relaxing. Good food diversity.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank luciasur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very romantic and gay friendly”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We loved our experience at deetjen's. The service was great! They seemed to be happy we were there. We brought our own wine and the server complimented us on our choice. I had the oysters on the half shell with seaweed salad and roe. My gf had the dungeness crab cakes...both were very yummy! If you twisted my arm and made me complain about something it would be that our steaks were slightly overlooked from what we asked for but they were very flavorful! The atmosphere was very cozy and there seemed to be couples there that were really in love. No one seemed to mind us (a lesbian couple)...actually all of big sur is like that :).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing