We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting buildings, gallery and decor”

Big Sur Coast Gallery & Cafe
Ranked #15 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting buildings, gallery and decor”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Liked the ambience and the views from this little coastal cafe gallery. Whether you eat here or not it is worth a visit. The gallery sells beautiful artisan crafts and the history of the circular buildings built from timber water reservoirs is interesting. The coffee and snack we purchased were fine too! You come upon it quickly as you round a bend so don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amcee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    40
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and views!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We came across this restaurant along our drive through Big Sur and were happily surprised. We sat out on the balcony overlooking the ocean while enjoying a wonderful meal. We had the Reuben and a chicken salad wrap, they were both delicious and large portions. Bonus, we had whale sighting while enjoying our meal! You can also take some time to walk around the galleries to see some great local artists' work on display. And they have water bottles for $2 :) This is a great location to take a break along your drive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Novameister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
224 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Like an Alpine cafe transplanted to the Pacific Ocean”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

On my many trips across the Alps I savor the competent café situated on the mountain top, and sitting outdoors to enjoy the view. So much of that experience has beamed itself to the Big Sur coastline, with the care at Coast Gallery. The food was good, deserts well done, carry-out selection relatively diverse. The deck overlooking the ocean is lovely, especially if the fog is not obscuring the view. Coast Gallery also has a large crafts section that you must walk through to reach the 2nd floor café. I was not a buyer but enjoyed seeing the wares. I can see this being a regular stop if I return that way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motohigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as Nepenthe views!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Better menu than Nepenthe and the view was just as good. Neat port hole type windows and nice outdoor seating perched overlooking the Pacific.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sedonabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and beautiful scenery”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The salads at this café are wonderfully fresh and a great blend of greens, vegetables, and roasted nuts. The scenery of the Big Sur coastline from the cafe's outdoor deck and tables is breathtaking. Stop here during your drive along PCH 1 and have some good food and majestic views.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddydctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Coast Gallery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Coast Gallery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing