We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yummy Sandwiches!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Kevah

Cafe Kevah
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating
Pacifica
Level Contributor
185 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yummy Sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a great stop for lunch, a great beverage selection and the sandwiches we ordered were excellent. Clearly the Chef loves what he does and takes it seriously. The potato salad was some of the best I've ever had. The view was awesome. We stopped downstairs at the shop on our way out and lost sense of time for awhile in our wandering. We'll stop again,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    61
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
472 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, Quick Service, Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the cafe restaurant below Nepenthe at Big Sur. We ate here because we could order immediately and find seating. There was a wait upstairs at Nepenthe. I think the view was the same: Awesome. Cafe Kevah only seemed to have outdoor seating, which is great on a beautiful day. Most of our group had salads, which were very good. A couple had the Reuben and said it was excellent too. There were 4 couples and we each shared our entree for plenty to eat at lunch.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“views are amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was driving big sur on the way to Monterey and stopped here around 9 am since Nepethe was not open yet. Cafe Kevah has a nice breakfast/brunch menu and the views are just as good if not better than Nepethe upstairs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hayden23911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
141 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with this location - stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

That said they don't take your business for granted and the food was very good. They were busy and there was a wait for food, but they were clear about that upfront and delivered exactly when they said. When you're in the sun looking down on the Big Sur coastline the time flies by.

Great shop too.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeordieGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Inpromptu stop whilst driving through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Heading on our way from Glen Oak down to LA we decided to stop off for breakfast. With the more promoted Nepenthe only opening at 11.30am we decided to try Cafe Kevah.

The Eggs Benedict was sufficiently welcome, with quick, polite service and the same epic views that Nepenthe shares, it did make us wonder how the bigger restaurant uphill (Nepenthe) could be better.

It's not The Sierra Mar, but is pleasant enough

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sssingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Kevah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing