We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gorda Springs Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Reviewed September 28, 2005

Never stayed in a log cabin before but was very impressed. We arrived quite late at night as all lodging actually in big sur were full & we had to carry in driving in the dark (not good!). The staff in the shop were very friendly & although had cashed up for the night still sold us some wine & water. We were very hungary & the man in the whale watcher cafe was very nice & offered to make us something even though it was closed. We had 2 glasses of wine & 2 bowls of soup for $30. After reading some of the other reviews i wounder if 20% tip had already been added we paid at the til so didnt see the cheque. Stayed in the redwood cabin. Very nice & cosy we were given logs for the fire & fire lighters all included in the price we paid $165 inc tax. Very romantic cuddled up on the sofa with a bottle of wine & fire roaring. Views were spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 166 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Overpriced food. It tasted horrible. The burrito had a bottle of La Victoria poured on instead of the "enchilada sauce"... the shrimp were bad. The breakfast eggs were a little dark green in color, i guess they were using really old pans!
The cabin was overpriced. Be ware that there are no pictures of the inside of the cabin. The power went out on us and there are no telephones to call the front desk. They also do not provide any sort of flashlights for guests to use in case of emergencies. We had to find the breakers with the light of a lighter.... Great views, but i guess you can get that from anywhere along the coast of big sur.

Stayed: September 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2005

As I have not stayed at any of the other spots in Big Sur, or along highway 1, I have no idea what to compare to. Our cabin had two bedrooms, one bath, and a full view of the ocean (although it was very foggy). They allowed us to make a fire in stone stoves and wood they provided, and we had a small patio area with patio seating and a view. The owners of the store downstairs were super friendly, chatted with us for a while and provided us with some free supplies. Dinner was very good at the Whale Watcher Cafe, and I didn't mind the 20% tip they added on - all the food was great and service was also great. I think this would be a lovely spot to go back to. The only issue was that it is very pricey - $250 and $300 cabins which are very small, without kitchens, etc. But I assumed this was the pricing in that region of California. If money isn't too much an issue and you want to be right on the ocean, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

I think other reviewers have been a little unfair. Cons: the walls are a little thin (our neighbors complained about our talking), the Whale Watcher's Cafe is a bit pricy, and the hotel is a little pricy. Pros: the people were very nice at the hotel and cafe, the room was very clean and spacious, the view was very great of the tiny bay/beach area, the food was very good at the cafe. During my visit, the only problems were some stuck-up East-coaster types at the cafe who would not wait for their food (and threw a tizzy-fit before roaring off in their Porsche) and our complaining neighgors. This place is a little blip on the way into Big Sur, but was better than I expected from the reviews and certainly not bad. If I travel through again and do not make advance reservations in Big Sur, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pklos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
316
Reviewed June 1, 2005

For the price of these cabins, I would not advise. There are a handful of places along the Big Sur Coast--all are probably pricey but avoid this one. No heat, plywood walls, I had a weird feeling when I didn't see any photos of the cabins on their web site. The restaurant there is also way overpriced, the service was hurried, the food so-so. For $100/ night, I would have been OK but these were $250/night and completely not worth it. Do I need to mention the plywood/ unfinished walls and the no heat thing again?

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Monterey, Ca.
111
Reviewed May 12, 2005

My wife and i are Business owners in the Monterey Penn. and thought we could use a weekend away. we booked at gordia and planned dinner at the restaurant. dinner was good, but the room accomdations wow were very poor
nothing romantic about the place the bed was something out of a porn movie. they wanted to charge us a arm and a leg for fire wood when there was a pile along side of our cottage.
we spent $600.00 the weekend there and was charged $2.50 ea for 2 coffees the next morning when we checked out.
make sure your gas tank is full because there gas is the highest in the nation.
(think they would invest some of that gold into a nice resort).

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
winnipeg, manitoba,canada
112
Reviewed March 12, 2004

We took the pacific coast highway from Sanfrancisc to anheim mainly because we wanted to enjoy the scenery that we had heard so much about . We stopped at the whale watcher Cafe for a drink, the owner was extremely friendly and very informative as to where to stop and see the best sights. He informed us of the elephant seals and a waterfall that were yet to come along our way. He was very nice and very funny, joking with us and telling us stories about the area. Although we were not there for much more than 30 minutes or so, we had a great time there and it is one stop that we made along the way that we will not soon forget. Thanks for the memory!!!!!

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
29.8 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,152 reviews
29.4 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
419 reviews
32.2 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorda Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorda Springs Resort

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Gorda Springs Hotel Big Sur
Gorda Springs Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing