We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total rip off”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gorda Springs Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
A TripAdvisor Member
Monterey, Ca.
111
Reviewed May 12, 2005

My wife and i are Business owners in the Monterey Penn. and thought we could use a weekend away. we booked at gordia and planned dinner at the restaurant. dinner was good, but the room accomdations wow were very poor
nothing romantic about the place the bed was something out of a porn movie. they wanted to charge us a arm and a leg for fire wood when there was a pile along side of our cottage.
we spent $600.00 the weekend there and was charged $2.50 ea for 2 coffees the next morning when we checked out.
make sure your gas tank is full because there gas is the highest in the nation.
(think they would invest some of that gold into a nice resort).

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 166 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
winnipeg, manitoba,canada
112
Reviewed March 12, 2004

We took the pacific coast highway from Sanfrancisc to anheim mainly because we wanted to enjoy the scenery that we had heard so much about . We stopped at the whale watcher Cafe for a drink, the owner was extremely friendly and very informative as to where to stop and see the best sights. He informed us of the elephant seals and a waterfall that were yet to come along our way. He was very nice and very funny, joking with us and telling us stories about the area. Although we were not there for much more than 30 minutes or so, we had a great time there and it is one stop that we made along the way that we will not soon forget. Thanks for the memory!!!!!

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, CA
120
Reviewed January 29, 2004

Watch out for getting ripped off in the resaurant - Whale Watcher Cafe.Our waiter in the "Whale Watcher Cafe", added gratuity of ** 20% ** to our check - even though and there were only 4 of us!! Also the gratuity part of the bill was stuck on with tape so presumably the owner would not know about it.

20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Niita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank alicia873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank kilopollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fiquei na Garden House. Vista linda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gabriela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
29.8 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,152 reviews
29.4 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
419 reviews
32.2 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorda Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorda Springs Resort

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Gorda Springs Hotel Big Sur
Gorda Springs Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing