We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy Cabins”
Review of Ripplewood Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ripplewood Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We spent one night in the Ripplewood resort on our travel up the Highway 1.
It's a great place to stay, nice cozy wooden chalets with a good bed and decent bathroom.
At night you can sit outside and listen to the quietness of the woods. In the morning you can make your own breakfast on your terras in the woods, really great.
One advice fill up your car with gass before you entre the woods of Highway 1, cause prices will double in the park.
If your driving up from LA make sure to leave LA early cause you don't want to rush the last few miles of the 6 our drive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kannix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 345 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed in one of the river cabins, so we weren't expecting anything luxurious. The cabin is really right on the river, it is amazingly beautiful and relaxing to be amongst the trees and hear the sound of the river. It has quite a rustic feel.
The staff was pretty apathetic and a bit curt, not particularly friendly or helpful.
There was a big dead bug on the bathroom counter and another dead bug and dirt in the shower. The shower was TINY (I'm 5'2" and 105 lbs, BTW) even for me! The cabin had a musty smell.
There's not too many places to stay in Big Sur, and the location was so great I would probably stay here again. But the accommodations are really nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank veenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed in cabin #9, with a picture window view of the creek. We loved our stay here! Yes, it is a cabin and just what you may expect of a cabin, but it has a little kitchen with deck, bathroom shower with a see-through roof, and a comfortable bed. Great location in Big Sur. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel4Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Rustic, yes. Small, yes. But the location, cleanliness, perfectly supplied kitchen and bathroom and furnishings gave us a very comfortable, affordable and special winter getaway. As low-impact travelers, we loved the opportunity to bake a loaf of bread in our own kitchen while staying warm and cozy listening to the rain on the roof and the river that flowed just below our own private deck. We typically pitch a tent in Big Sur, so this was a luxury for us. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Umbeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Ripplewood was a nice spot for part of our family vacation. My family of 4, with two teenagers, stayed in a cabin near the highway. We had no problem with road noise, although we slept with windows shut because it was cool. 2 double comfy beds in a "cottage style" room with nice bath. My parents stayed in a cabin down by the river. The cabins were nestled among the big trees and it was very pretty. We sat out on their deck overlooking river at night, and used the nice chairs at the riverside in the am.
The Ripplewood Restaurant was great for breakfast - outdoor seating. The only negative is that you have to cross Hwy 1 from our cabins to restaurant - fine for our family, but could be dangerous with small children. We would highly recommend this cottage style resort.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeenahWITripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was everything we expected. As others have said, the pictures on their website don't do this place much justice. It is much more charming in person. We stayed in cabin #7 which is tucked under the redwoods down by the river. I definitely think the river cabins are the place to be. They are located down a hill away from the main road. It was quite relaxing to listen to the sound of the river as you sleep or relax on the deck. There is a campground on the other side of the river, but we didn't find that to be an issue. There were a few families with older children (about 5- 9 yrs old) and they seemed to be having a lot of fun playing in the river all day long. Our son, 11 months) was too young for that, but I am sure he would have loved it if he had been older.

The cabin was well stocked with fire wood and we enjoyed nightly fires in the fire pit outside. The kitchen has just about everything you need to cook. It was sort of roughing it, but not really as they restock your firewood, make your bed and give you clean towels every day. The cabins have heaters which are nice because even at the end of June Big Sur gets chilly at night .

The location of Ripplewood is also great as it is in a central location and only a short drive to various hiking trails, beaches and restaurants.

We traveled with your 11 month old and brought our own travel bed (Kidco Peapod) and highchair for him as they do not have any sort of child gear. They did, however, have hairdryers if you ask for one which was nice.

We'd definitely stay here again if we are ever luck enough to make it back out to Big Sur.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emy8777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Big Sur is an awesome area for lovers of nature and the Ripplewood resort's cabins fit perfectly. The location is great, in the forest, near route 1 and pretty close to Pfeiffer Beach and McWay Falls. The staff is extremely nice and welcoming. The cabins are very nice, clean and comfortable. Don't expect a 5 star hotel room, this is cabins in the woods, but it's great for what it is. There is a gas station right beside the reception building and it was the least outrageous gas price when compared to the other gas stations in the area. There is also a small grocery store at the reception and they have a small café for breakfast and coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jflafond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.9 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,164 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
393 reviews
19.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 24 in Carmel
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
3.2 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripplewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripplewood Resort

Address: 47047 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9556
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $95 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ripplewood Resort features a grocery store, gas station, Cafe open for breakfast and lunch, and 17 Cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ripplewood Hotel Big Sur
Ripplewood Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing