We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Sur Campground & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed here for the second week of July. We have a family camping trip every year and have stayed several places over the years. This campsite has the same characteristics as any other. The sites are spacious. They have ample room between fellow campers. The shower/restroom facilities were spotless. It seemed like they serviced them serveral times a day. The kids really love the soft serve ice cream in the evening. The playground was a hit with them also. The 10:00PM quiet time is tastfully enforced. The adults had the lucky oportunity to have Grandma watch the kids while we hiked down the road to the bar at the Big Sur River Inn. The bar has a great staff and a great time was had by all. The weather is a bit cool for summer. This was very refreshing as we knew back home was over a 100 degrees. The campsites near the river are not good for young children as there is a very steep bank that is dangerous. We had to move to a different site, but the staff was great help. I would recommend this to anybody. The other reviews just seem to reflect people that should just stay in a motel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barleyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2007

This place is nothing more than terrible. We felt like in a refugee camp! In fact, we checked earlier because we were not enjoying at all. Overcrowded, overpriced, noisy, dirty..what else! Their website...even my 8 year old said: this is false advertisment!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank camperCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Stayed here two different nights in July of 2007. Very friendly staff, FREE hot showers, and great scenery. Close to beaches, and hiking. Sites are close to each other; but also seemed as each site had several cars per parking area. If people had planned better, and carpooled, there would be less car clutter. A great place to camp. Let's remember camping means enjoying the outdoors and relaxing; not worrying about what your neighbors are doing.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camper100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

My wife and I stayed there this last weekend. We booked the place based on the location and pictures/desriptions from their website. Upon arrival our "most private cabin" was a trailer connected to another trailer within 10' from an RV firepit wich had some of the worst late night joketellers I have everheard (very loud). That was all right across a small trail from the basketball courts where the balls bounced continously throughout the day.

Inside the cabin/trailer was clean and pleasant. Staff was very friendly and gave us a credit for the rest of our stay.

I might return, only to camp at a river site in the dead of winter.

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank lowdowndirtytruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lake Forest, CA
74
Reviewed July 6, 2006

We stayed here over the 4th of July holiday. The campground is very clean! The bathrooms were nice & were cleaned frequently during the night & day. The kids loved tubing on the river. The tubes can be rented for a few dollars right in the campground. There is plenty of room on the sandy shore for the adults to set up chairs to watch the kids. The staff is very friendly! The best sites are on the river, but don't include hookups. The RV sites are adequate. The playground was a big hit with the kids, too! We would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2006

For $212 a night, I expect more than a mobile home with views of a basketball court and utility buildings. Unfortunately, this is what we got at the Big Sur Campground. The "cabins" are actually mobile homes, crammed together, in an area that looks more like a white-trash mobile home park than a VERY expensive campground. The outdoor area for our trailer/cabin was right on a well-traveled road (both cars and pedestrians), so we had absolutely no privacy and no area for the kids to roam freely.

There were, however, a few redeeming qualities to this campground. The cabins were very clean and stocked nicely (towels, pillows, pots and pans, etc.). The playground was a hit with our kids, as was the river with tubes (small rental fee).

If you have the option, go someplace else. However, if you have to camp here, bring your tent and get one of the sights along the river. Less expensive, better view and somewhat larger campsites.

Stayed: June 2006
9  Thank rdlaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2006

We stayed at one of the cabins with equipped kitchen over this past weekend and it was a very positive experience. When we first stepped into the living room we immediately felt comfortable. The cabins have been nicely remodeled and maintained. The cabin seemed new. It's clean and heater works very well (the air tends to be cool in the early morning and evening, do bring jackets!) and well-lit. We walked around the entire property with areas for camping and travellers were discreet and enjoying themselves. All cabins seemed identical insides. You park your car right in front of your cabin. It's quiet and serene. Parts of property are right by the River with nice cascading sound of clear and chill water, very soothing and beautiful.

The staffs would joyfully greet you when you return to the property (you would check in with your car permit) and were apologetic when we didn't find a pre-requested crib and quickly delivered one with clean sheet and blanket to us.

It's terrifc to know there are lodging like this for those of us who don't camp and who can't afford to pay at least over $400/night for accommodations.

The loding requires travellers with no pets, it's for sanitary and tranquanlity reasons I think and it makes sense. So please do respect the policy. If you really can't travel without your pets, I trust you could find somewhere else to stay.

Once you book your reservation, they would send you a confirmation information along with a map of the property and the number of your room and the location of the lodging in Big Sur. There were no pictures of the cabins. There is shower only.

I didn't know what to expect at first but was pleasantly surprised. Happy travel!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
19.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
715 reviews
19.7 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
0.8 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Campground & Cabins

Address: Route 1, Big Sur, CA
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located among majestic Coastal Redwood trees along the pristine Big Sur River, Big Sur Campground and Cabins offers camping and lodging with the emphasis on Family. Enjoy tent and RV camping on the forest floor as you watch the kids inner tube by in the cool water. Or pamper your family in one of several styles of cabins, from rustic tent cabins to fully equipped cabins with kitchens and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Sur Campground And Cabins
Big Sur Campground & Cabins Hotel Big Sur
Cabins Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing