We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Envy for the Full-Timers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Sur Campground & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

To me, anyone who is privileged enough to live full time in these woods amongst the unchanging and monumental scenery that makes up this very intimate part of the world has arrived. These cabins and tent cabins are extraordinary in their simplicity. We stayed in one of the cabins for the heat but I would definitely stay in the tent cabin when warmth was less a factor to see the light shine in between the redwoods with the dawn of the day.
The management is great and the grounds are super well taken care of and maintained. There is a playground if you brought the kids. I would stay here again and again and if I never had to leave that would be just fine.

Room Tip: The cabins are all well situated. I have no complaints. My only advice for other travelers is get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyAbundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 224 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Wow....... The Big Sur takes your breath away at every turn. We stayed here for a few nights on our way through, we had one of the self catering cabins. It was everything they promised on the website. Comfy bed, good shower facilities and fun friendly atmosphere well located along Highway 1. We were there in Sept so bring warm clothes for the evening. Bring a torch and food. We were told there was a fire pit that we could cook on but as we were passing through and did not have full camping gear we opted to just bring ready made food and eat in the local establishments and I think that was the best idea If you start trying to cook it becomes a mission. It is quite expensive but for what it is I thought worth every penny.

Room Tip: Camping pitches are quite close together but the cabins are well laid out and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, it was clean and well maintained. We had a visit from the grand kids and they loved the playground. It was a beautiful area with lots to do near by. We are planning to return again next fall.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank kad911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at this RV/Camp site whilst travelling down the 101 (A great road!) and loved it. The site is in amongst some huge redwood trees and although a little dark it is very atmospheric.

The staff allowed us to check in slightly early and therefore we got the choice of all of the available lots. We picked number 11, right next to the river, and although it is fairly closely located to the neighbouring sites we still felt like we had plenty of privacy (anyhow, camping is about meeting people and being social!)

We had never RV'd before and the staff could not have been more friendly, talking us through hooking up the RV and (more importantly) how to dump the waste water... They also told us the best places to go trekking and gave us some background info on the local attractions.

As for the RV site - it had hook ups for both water and power, as well as a fit pit (my favourite bit), which allowed us to sit outside sipping our G&Ts without getting cold.

There are a few shops, petrol station and a restaurant a short walk away as well - Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PM551H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Keep driving and don't stop here. They really pack them in here making it uncomfortably close...we're talking feet here. Don't believe anything you read or see on the website as it's a completely inaccurate depiction. The bathrooms are dirty and poorly maintained, two toilets, both were blocked and needed a good cleaning considering how many campers were trying to use the facilities. What's with the 4 foot doors on the toilets? Kind of weird making eye contact over the toilet door with anyone who walks in the main door. Expensive $$$ and you get nothing for your money here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Beatrix G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Arrived at night just before their offices closed at 8 p.m. The site at night is magical. I felt like I was in an enchanted forest (such a city gal!). That being said after traveling all day I was thrilled to arrive in a very clean well appointed and heated cabin! They had complimentary tea and instant coffee. My cabin was #66 (?) slept 4 (we had our 5 & 7 yr. olds with us who slept just fine by themselves on the living room futon, and a full kitchen. We were their for just one night so didn't get to take advantage of the kitchen but it was fully stocked with the essentials. This place is like resort style camping. The playground was AWESOME for the kids, they have a basketball court, and a beautiful swimming hole. I hope to come back here again someday but to camp. The cabin was pretty pricey ($299). You pay for what you get though. The place is NICE. My husband is turned off by the noise rule at 10 p.m. but really, we have kids so who wants to hear a racket anyways?! This place is gorgeous. It just is...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We rented a cabin to break up our journey from San Francisco to LA and this was a perfect stopping off point. The cabins are quaint with a real rustic feel. It was clean and spacious. The position was gorgeous, right beside a river in amongst the trees. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we were only there overnight so did not get to make the most of the gorgeous setting. I would also advise bringing food with you as there is a very limited choice in the local stores.

Room Tip: Book a cabin by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EH278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
3.2 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,155 reviews
19.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
722 reviews
19.7 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
546 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Campground & Cabins

Address: Route 1, Big Sur, CA
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located among majestic Coastal Redwood trees along the pristine Big Sur River, Big Sur Campground and Cabins offers camping and lodging with the emphasis on Family. Enjoy tent and RV camping on the forest floor as you watch the kids inner tube by in the cool water. Or pamper your family in one of several styles of cabins, from rustic tent cabins to fully equipped cabins with kitchens and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Sur Campground And Cabins
Big Sur Campground & Cabins Hotel Big Sur
Cabins Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing