We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome and clean campground- best family trip yet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Sur Campground & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Sur Campground & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Grover Beach, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome and clean campground- best family trip yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just stayed at this campground we had cabin 101, soooo amazing clean comfy and everything you need. We had a nice deck fire pit BIG grass area in front and right on the river. We were also next to the basketball court which was fun since we have 3 yr old twin boys they have balls for your use. There is also a playground and you can get games at the front for free as well as hot coffee. Everyone we talked to was extremely nice, as for location great very close to great hikes and we even drove to carmel for a few hrs one day only took us 25 min.
The cabin has everything dishes, extra pillows, paper towels, coffee, oven, fridge, it was perfect we will be back for sure. Best family trip yet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara23Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    60
    18
    13
    27
See reviews for
78
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had camped here before and not had a problem, but this past weekend I felt very subjected by one member of the staff. We were a group of two couples in our late twenties The woman told us 7 times before we left check in that we needed to adhere to quiet hours and not party. We came for a relaxing quiet weekend! She continued to badger us at our campsite later in the afternoon. Unfortunately, I don't think she told the families that were near us the same rules and we woke up way before quiet hours ended due to children running and screaming. The woman needs to stop making assumptions because this time she was 100% wrong and lost the campsite a customer for life.

On top of the judgy staff, the campsites are small, its 4 times more expensive than other nearby sites, and the staff has no issue with parents let their children run crazy at 7am.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Danesha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRON OHIO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were blessed to be able to stay in an A-Frame cabin in Big Sur Campground and Cabins. It was well maintained and clean- the cabin had everything we needed- especially NO access to cell phone service, TV or internet - a rare treat to be totally cut off from the whirlwind life we normally share. There were books and games in the cabin for our use. Our cabin was nestled among HUGE redwoods and access to the beautiful Big Sur River. A real highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Let me preface by saying the campground was half empty when I stayed here but something tells me this place would still be mighty enjoyable even on a summer weekend. We stayed in a tent spot overlooking the river and surrounded by cool redwoods. Everyone was friendly and very nice. You can really tell that Big Sur is a happy place to live and work. It was also a close stroll to the River Inn and Maiden Publick House (a cool pub that stayed open late). They even had free coffee in the morning! I cannot wait to come back here!

Room Tip: Spot 8 is great if you like sleeping to the gentle babbling river and wonderful shade from the redwo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyC4SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at big sur campground, it was so different from the rest of our trip up the coast and definitely worth stopping off. Everyone staying there was so friendly and so nice to us novice campers! There's a good bar close by and you can also float down the river on rubber rings during the day. It is a family place so dont go there if you're looking for a wild time and do pick up all your food supplies in a neighbouring town. Also, they sell warm cookies for 50 cents everyday: yes please.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LindySh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice facilities, great river flowing in front of our tent cabin. Super nice staff. Everything was clean and worked well. Only complaints are that the sites are very clise to eachother. Also, you can hear the cars on Hwy.1.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank LBrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just spend 5 days and we had a great time. We stay at camp 2, big enough for our 5th wheel. We were facing the river. The kids had fun in the cold water and we had the perfect view. The staff was very helpful and polite. There is lots of people but from our location it was not a problem. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
3.2 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
19.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
19.7 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Campground & Cabins

Property: Big Sur Campground & Cabins
Address: Route 1, Big Sur, CA
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located among majestic Coastal Redwood trees along the pristine Big Sur River, Big Sur Campground and Cabins offers camping and lodging with the emphasis on Family. Enjoy tent and RV camping on the forest floor as you watch the kids inner tube by in the cool water. Or pamper your family in one of several styles of cabins, from rustic tent cabins to fully equipped cabins with kitchens and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Sur Campground & Cabins Hotel Big Sur
Big Sur Campground And Cabins
Cabins Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing