We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, great location.”
Review of Fernwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernwood Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good value for money, great location.”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We booked this hotel during our trip from LA to San Francisco, along the Pacific Coast Hwy. And we were pleasantly surprised by the location of the hotel. It was affordable compared to the other hotels in the area ($84). It has a great grill and restaurant.The staff was very friendly too.
The only downside was that the bathroom had a few stains. But being there only for a night, we did not mind it at all. The food at the restaurant was great, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    102
    70
    38
    15
See reviews for
84
118
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

My partner and I arrived in Big Sur after a 13 hour flight and a 7 hour drive along some of the most beautiful coast line I've seen. We didn't want to spend a lot of money and chose Fernwood for both the location to Big Sur's sights and it's cheap rooms.

They gave us a choice of a very simple and very small $85 room or a more expensive but larger room with a fireplace for $115. After viewing each room, we decided on the very small room as it was only one night and didn't need all the mod cons.

It suited as very well and the room is indeed close to the highway as a previous reviewer mentioned however any noise didn't bother us as we are deep sleepers. The only noise I heard was from the band that plays in the ajoining bar until around midnight. It actually worked out well as we didn't know there would be a band and the very small room is the at the very far end of the accommodation.

We enjoyed our short stay at Fernwood. It was close to everything, the hotel had a bar, good food and live music. Definitely recommend it.

A quick tip - we really wanted to go to the Esalen Institute's hot springs during their guest hours of 1am to 3am however we weren't able to get a reservation. I have heard very good things about this and I definitely regret not booking this experience weeks in advance.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodHami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Got there late on a Saturday, sunny weekend, everything else fully booked or way too expensive. They rented me a small "overflow" room for $80, very small, very noisy (right next to Highway 1), but if you know the prices in Big Sur, that is a good value. Room well kept. Only go to Big Sur with Camping equipment - and always book ahead, especially as long as the state sites are still closed due to the forest fires. No breakfast available at the resort."

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Hi folks. Been going to fernwood for years but my last visit wasn't quite up to par.
We pulled into the camp sight and got a hard time for going slightly over the limit just a touch.
Then tent campimg at $45- a night. What's up with that?
Last but not least we went up for a drink and the bar tender turned out to be for a real [--]!! Tall older guy like my self. May be he was having an off night. But I don't need it.
Looking for some place new.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmundt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

We travelled in August of this year and had a great time at Fernwood. Check in was great and our room was awesome-beautiful,clean and rustic. The bed was the best ever and we slept great. The bar did have live music until about 12 and we enjoyed listening to it from our room. We opened our window and it felt like luxury camping. I have stayed at Post Ranch 5 times and I love it too, but this only cost $100 on a Saturday night in August and as a bonus the property is on the Big Sur river and we loved swimming in it. There was no noise between rooms either. It was great great great.

  • Liked — The Bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lriverside, ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

we stayed at the fernwood motel, and what an adventure. my first impression of the room was not so great but later grew on me, my husband and kids hated it. it was built in the 30's so it is quite old, tiny shower, no screens on the windows, no tv, phone, or in room beverages, just basically a place to sleep for the night.

i would say if you are looking for luxury and comfort and a room to relax this would not be your place, but if you are looking for adventure and have a great sense of humor this would be. The resort overall has great character from the little store to the tavern and restaurant, if i were single or just with my husband this place would do just fine. there were little quirks and slowly working things like the slow flushing toilet, portable heater, smoke alarm randomly going off in the middle of the night .

One thing though which i think was most important and the fernwood lived up to was cleanliness. the sheets and bathroom, blankets and towels were so nice and clean and to me that made up for its quirks.

We walked down to the campgrounds, if you are looking to camp this would be an awesome place to stay.

  • Liked — price of room, cleanliness
  • Disliked — in need of updating, lack of heating, small rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lilechodawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Sur hotels

santa cruz
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

we make a point of eating at the restaurant at Fernwood because the staff is so nice, they make you feel like they are glad you came and really want your business. The BBQ is real good. It is a casual place as is the style in Big Sur. A great general store attached. You could literally leave your apt with nothing and pickup everything you need to camp right there. Good for the spontaneous! A very welcoming place to hang, Lapperts ice cream on the deck etc. These people are nice!!!

  • Liked — great service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pmbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.4 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,133 reviews
20.2 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
659 reviews
20.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
487 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ventana Big Sur
Ventana Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Property: Fernwood Resort
Address: 47200 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Resort Big Sur
Fernwood Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing