We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Fernwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernwood Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights July 26th thru July 28th. We stayed in cottage A with the hot tub. Very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. This hotel is right on the highway, once your in your room you never heard the traffic.
The rooms are in front of the campground. I found this not to be a problem.
I would highly recommened this hotel. The price was good for this area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dirtdevilPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 310 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2008

We got to Big Sur right after the fires and with most of US1 still in shambles, the Fernwood resort was up and running. We stopped in for dinner and asked about a room. We got the queen with the double attached in room D. No TV and only electric heat but that served us just fine. We spent most of the night in the bar/restaurant chatting with locals and the day was spent out on hikes. If you're looking for the 4 Seasons, this is not your place. If you are looking for a good room and some good local company check this place out.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bsaks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed in room B which has a queen and an extension with a double that we didn't use. paid $138/night. Which is good for the area. Very much a motel that could use serious updating and it is right on the highway. Portable heaters only and it was down to 40 at night so chilly. Also - heavy metal band played their lounge area the first night we were there and played past midnight. Bathrooms are tight and very dated. Very cold at night!
The general store and restaurant/bar are quite charming. The campground behind and below is set right in the massive redwoods along the river, If we went back and stayed there, I would go for one of the cabins instead.
And don't subject anyone to staying in those extension off the main rooms. They feel like you're staying in the middle of the road.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kaybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We were touring all of Highway One May of 2008 and one of our stops was in Big Sur for a night. Out of all the places we stayed along the coast line this was the most expensive one with the least amount of amenities. There was only an oil heater that barely worked, no television, no blow dryer, and poor lighting to even read by. You could barely fit an average adult in the small shower and you were able to tell whenever someone else flushed or washed clothes because the temperature kept changing. The little store was grossly overpriced and the coffee was horrible. The only part that we enjoyed were the hamburgers at their restaurant next door. Overall, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rugarlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Motel was very nice...pool, hot tub ,arcade. Very nice grounds too!
Lots of different choices to eat there too. My problem... front desk told you the wrong times things opened. We wasted our vacation time, because they didn't know their job. Pool, arcade and bumper boat hours , they got them all wrong ! Also, they wouln't give me my room key until I WAITED ON LINE to speak with one of their tour guides(selling pitch) I told them I wasn't interested ,but still had to stand there and wait anyway. Front desk needs better management !!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GptGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernwoodBigSur, manager at Fernwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2008

Looks like these folks confused us with a different place. We don't have a pool, arcade, bumper boats, or tour guides. We do have a beautiful campground in the redwoods on the Big Sur River near hiking trails, rooms with hot tubs, and friendly staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

We loved this little place..no tv or phone but a comfortable clean room for an excellant price for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkNoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

We stayed one night at the motel on our way from San Francisco to Los Angeles. The room was ok, but not great. The motel itself is kind of a mix of a restaurant/bar and grocery store. The staff is laid back and friendly. There was a cat living on the property and watchin her drinking water or milk or something from a bar stool was quite funny. The food in the restaurant was good but we received our entrees about two seconds after receiving the appertizer...
The motel has a redwood forrest and a river on its property and this is also the campsite of the resort. We went for a little walk in the morning and it was beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves-to-travel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
20.2 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
695 reviews
20.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
16.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
512 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
412 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Address: 47200 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range: $182 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Resort Big Sur
Fernwood Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing