We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you get a room as far from the road as possible!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Make sure you get a room as far from the road as possible!”
Reviewed September 22, 2009

All of the motels in this area (outside of the luxury resorts) are close to the road and receive a fair bit of traffic noise. The Glen Oaks is no exception. When we checked in, we were given room #16--directly facing the road. Enjoying the nice sitting area outside was impossible; we could barely hear each other. We could hear the traffic inside our room well into the evening hours and the traffic starts fairly early in the morning as well.

The manager was kind enough to give us a cabin for the next night--a bit farther from the road and significantly less noisy. I recommend that you forego the online reservation and speak directly to him to ensure you get the best room possible. What's the point of spending close to $200 a night to be in the middle of all that beauty and rustic charm, and listening to cars whizzing by at all hours?

That said, the rooms are small, but nice. There is a gas fireplace (it was warm when we were there, so we didn't use it) a wine cooler, and rustic furnishings. The bathroom and shower stall are roomy and fantastic--after a day of hiking that wonderful shower defintely feels marvelous. Hard to beat it, I'm sure. There is no television, but they do supply board games. Also no breakfast nor restaurant, but you can get a cup of coffee in the main office in the morning. The manager also gave us some good information about hiking paths, etc.

The River Inn (about 1/2 mile north) is also directly on the highway--but it does have the Big Sur "River" in the back (more like a creek) a pool, and a restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoVAdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    326
    72
    18
    10
See reviews for
92
870
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

This place has got to be the best value for the money in Big Sur. The rooms were clean the staff was friendly and the bathrooms were amazing (They even had heated floors). I loved this place and will be staying there for our next trip to Big Sur!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPB, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Staying here offers numerous advantages -

1. Location - you're in the best spot in Big Sur with easy access to beaches, restaurants, shops, and hiking. It's right next door to the Ripplewood so a great breakfast is right next door!
2. Rooms - they have been renovated VERY well since the place is originally just a road side motel w/ smallish rooms circa the 1950s. The bathroom is outstanding and the in-room fireplace is charming. There is no a/c which should only be an issue about 5 days a year when Big Sur is too warm, but a room fan is provided. Each room has an outstanding front porch with a table and 2 chairs seperated with other rooms offering privacy. Scrabble and Jenga are even provided for some extra fun! I found the queen bed hard and slightly unformatable but my spouse slept well. I don't even think the suites are worth it since there's also an outside firepit that anyone can use but few do.
3. The office person on duty was helpful and there's a laptop with free internet access located in the office if needed until 9pm. Another big plus since there's basically no cell phone service in Big Sur.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJJDFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

This place is amazing. They truly used the natural beauty they were given in Big Sur and just made it even better with their luxurious cabins.

We stayed in a duplex cabin and I really do wish I was still there. This was absolutely the highlight of my entire trip (which included San Fran, Santa Cruz, and other areas). There is nothing better than waking up in the morning to the sounds of the river and the sights of the red woods above your head.

This cabin was decorated in a modern and streamline fashion and included a firepit outside and a little kitchenette inside. Perfect for Big Sur. I recommend doing what we did, we had lunch at Nepenthe (beautiful views but a bit pricey for dinner) and then stocked up on some food from the small grocery store and just enjoyed the serenity of the woods.

Overall, I would've stayed longer had I known in advance how completely perfect this place is. Even after all the great reviews, I believe you can only truly know it once you drive in.

Will definitely return, wish it was sooner! A+++++.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camareno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed here for a night on our travels following Highway 1 from San Francisco to LA – it was truly amazing.

The drive to Big Sur following Highway 1 is beautiful, a casual drive with plenty of places to stop for a break and to take in the scenery. Big Sur itself is a nice little town with a few hotels, camp sites and restaurants dotted around the hills.

The room was very modern and clean. Everything is setup for a relaxing stay – no television (board games are provided), a quiet patio area (w/ optional fire pit) and the sound of crickets in the evening.

A little pricey, but well worth it for a safe, relaxing and comfortable stay. Make sure you take the time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeddyorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed two nights in a duplex cabin facing a beautiful glade, near a river. The fact that really astounded us was that our place was not only cozy, clean and surrounded by untouched nature, but it was also stylish and technological. It's equipped with a not-so-small fridge, a microwave and even a heatable floor in the bathroom! This place is so quiet and so charming that you would never leave...all the more if you have the chance, like we had, to be woken up in the morning by a beautiful deer roaming outside your cabin.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BojanUliev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We spent two nights at Glen Oaks on our way down to LA. While from the road it seems to be a generic motel, it is not. The room was spacious and nicely decorated with brick walls, gas fireplace, and modern furniture. The bathroom was exceptionally beautiful- stone floring and a large shower. The place was very clean. The only thing was that the price we paid seemed to be on the high side for a room (more than what we paid at a high-end hotel in San Francisco).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
294 reviews
21.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
820 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.4 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,168 reviews
15.3 mi away
Blue Sky Lodge
Blue Sky Lodge
#3 of 5 in Carmel Valley
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing