We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fireside queen room was lovely in the off season- dreamy grounds too!”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fireside queen room was lovely in the off season- dreamy grounds too!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a fireside queen room for 2 nights in February. Loved the room, loved the walk in shower and heated bathroom floor, loved the water filter, loved the landscaping, loved the communal fire pit. Wifi was good (we streamed a movie on netflix one rainy night). FYI, there is no TV in the room. I am sure that Big Sur is a crazy place to stay "during the season" but it was super dreamy here in the winter and we recommend for a winter getaway. Also, off season our room was under $200 per night.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank trpeltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    327
    72
    18
    11
See reviews for
92
879
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a lovely, quiet and very well kept establishment. The staff is friendly and very attentive when needed. I had a slight maintenance problem (squeaking door hinge) that was taken care of almost immediately even thought it was a Sunday afternoon when maintenance is normally not on sight. The only thing that keeps me from five "stars" is the frustratingly slow wifi connection.

(Interesting to note that when i preview this review, my rating for the restaurant does not appear. That gives tripadvisor a poor rating.)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in little sur cabin 7 for my birthday from Jan 10-12. It was very small and very cozy. The staff was so very kind when I checked in 30 minutes before the office closing hour.

Cabin: It was very tiny, but had all the accommodations you need. A microwave, a coffee maker, dish washing soap, dishes, filtered water in the little fridge, oatmeal, dishes, mugs, glasses and anything else you need to prepare a quick meal. Cabin 7 and Cabin 8 are attached in one large cabin and are split. These two combined cabins are the ones that have the fire pits facing the huge beautiful trees. The fire pit was already stoked with fire wood and an easy starter kit in the pit. Such incredible detail! The cabin is so clean and gorgeous décor. It's lovely. We could hear the river outside our cabin as well. Very tranquil environment.

Privacy: We had a lot of privacy in this cabin. Since the bathrooms basically share a wall we could hear our neighbors footsteps and talking every once in a while. However it's so quiet. I loved it.

I would recommend this spot to any one who wants some quiet, privacy and a nice get away. I look forward to coming back here.

Room Tip: Grab Sur Cabin 8 if you can, it faces the back of the property and you get some more privacy. I call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquaEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I really enjoyed the cozy cabin, personal fire pit, and Big Sur river setting. Plus, local watering holes like the Fernwood Resort, with its great bar and deck, were just up the road. The price isn't cheap, but it's a nice slice of serenity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sullystan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I took my girlfriend up the coast through Big Sur January 15th-19th, the first two nights we stayed at Glen Oaks Little Sur cabins.
The cabin was very tiny, however it was perfect for us! We absolutely loved the heated floors in the bathroom. The amenities provided made for a cozy stay, although I would not recommend sleeping with the windows open if your sensitive to smoke ( as I am ) because as we experienced, many other guests were out late with the fire pit going.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We only stayed here 1 night, but we wished we could have stayed longer! We were delighted to find we had been upgraded to a Fireside King suite, which was absolutely gorgeous! The combination of wooden and modern decor was beautiful, and the fire was amazing! There is no TV here, but there are board games and yoga mats provided in room. The bathroom's heated floor was soooooo wonderful, and the shower was really great, with good pressure. We purchased a s'mores kit from the front desk, and enjoyed this out by the fire pit. There's also a water feature close by, and it's lovely to spend time out there by the fire and listening to the water. Breakfast isn't included, but you can get this at the roadhouse over the highway. A fantastic stay in a gorgeous part of the world!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeonVenables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed in the Big Sur Cabin. Very romantic and SO relaxing.

Our cabin was off on the side by itself. You literally just need to walk a few feet from the cabin and the river was right there. It was like having our own private river! I enjoyed opening up the windows and listening to the sound of the water.

The cabin was clean and it had everything we needed...plus more. We really enjoyed the two tubs in the backyard with a fire pit. There were two separate firepits for this cabin. One by the tubs and one in the front of the cabin. We didn't need to start a fire from scratch. They had everything ready for us....all we had to do was throw a match in the fire pit and we had a fire

We agree with the other reviews....the heated floors were awesome!

This cabin had a mini kitchen. It was equipped with silverware, cups, bowls, wine opener, tea, oatmeal, and much more.

In the bedroom, in one of the cabinets, they had a few board games and yoga mats. I thought that was a nice touch, just in case it got "boring" at night. It was far from boring for the two of us. We didnt want to leave! We had a great time and my fiancé and I would like to go back.

I had to reserve the Big Sur Cabin almost two months in advance. It's obviously the BEST cabin (I thought so, and even the girl at the front desk said the same thing.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
21.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
15.3 mi away
Blue Sky Lodge
Blue Sky Lodge
#3 of 5 in Carmel Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glen Oaks Big Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing