We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quaint and modern” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I spent two days at the Glen Oaks at Big Sur- I was a bit wary because the name "Motor Lodge" threw me off... I didn't know what to expect! The Glen Oaks was beautiful- I am huge on cleanliness and the hardwood floors and brightly furnished rooms were incredibly clean. We had a couch and an indoor/outdoor fireplace in our room that was shared with the private outdoor patio, as well as heated bathroom floors (SO nice) and a fridge with a Brita. No television, but we had our laptop and the free WiFi meant we could watch movies easily. Housekeeping was so fast that they were in and out of our room while we ate breakfast, and they did a great job. A common area offered a fireplace where people were constantly cooking s'mores (artisan s'mores kits were available at the counter, they also sold fixings at the general stores in the area).

The location was great- the restaurant across the street supplied free coffee to guests and the general store a few steps away had anything we needed for a picnic lunch while we drove the coast. A few miles down the road is the Venetana, an incredible restaurant with a great view, and Nepenthe, another with the same. Everyone was very nice and helpful and offered tons of tips for the area.

In terms of price, it seems like a lot, but for the area it's not. Don't be fooled by the Motor Lodge in the name- its one of the nicer places we've stayed in for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a private patio! It's such a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    321
    72
    18
    9
See reviews for
90
851
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

They converted an old motel into a series of sizeable modern rooms with rustic touches. We even had a private gated off patio area (king room). Room was very clean and staff was pleasant (but not on duty 24/7). It If you stay be sure to check out the restaurant across the street.

Only con - we were looking for 2 double beds (sleeping for 3) but the hotel did not have any rooms of that nature which was suprising, so we had to get a trundle bed. I believe it was a $75 fee, which seemed high, but I don't normally get one, so not sure what the going rate is (given we were only staying for 1 night it made more sense than $300 for another room).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place is the bomb!!! My husband and I stayed in the Sycamore Cabin for two nights and everything was perfect. Location is beautiful and private, cabin is impeccably decorated with all the modern luxuries,(heated bathroom floor, wifi) and the fire pit/location makes you feel like you are really camping. We would return here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Echandl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in a cozy room in a simple style but with modern comforts, including a beautifully redone bathroom with wood and stone motif, large shower, and heated floor. Instead of TV, the accoutrements included a "Buddha board" and a gas fireplace as well as a Scrabble set. There was a small private patio right outside our door, and also on the grounds was a group seating area around a larger gas fire pit. A little pricey, but worth it. The staff was helpful and friendly. Just across the road was the Road House restaurant, very convenient with good breakfasts. Even though we were close to the road, it was very quiet at night. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay here on our next trip.

Room Tip: Dual fireplaces (facing inside and outside) have private patio. Cottage is nestled in the redwoods...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about this Big Sur retreat. Although we only stayed in our tiny cabin one night, I'd love to stay a lifetime. Convenient, modernly rustic, comfortable, great staff, everything you need at your little hide away in the woods. The firepit outside our door was already set up and ready to light as soon as we returned from dinner. The heated floors, comfortable bed, and organic products made me want to call this place home. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose the Big Sur cabin. Cleverly nestled in the woods, you feel as if you are the only people around. Listen carefully and all you can hear is the river nearby. A cabin appointed with a decent kitchen and hot drinks ready and waiting; nice lounge and comfy bedroom. The staff go out of their way to make your stay special - including making up the fire pits before your arrival. Twin outdoor baths in front of the firepit with the giant redwoods towering above you make staying here a night to remember.

Room Tip: Go for the Big Sur cabin if your budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Great lil motel if you want to stay near Post Ranch and Ventana but don't want to pay those prices. Glen Oaks is super clean, very upscale in a modern hippie sort of way. It's down in the woods so you get a different BigSur experience than staying right on the coast.
We loved our fireplace, loved the huge shower, loved the heated flooring, loved the bedding & loved the Scrabble and wine in our room! The staff was friendly and the room was quiet.

The owner of the motel also owns the Roadhouse restaurant right across the street.. The food there is FABULOUS!!!
We will be back again!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.9 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
21.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing