We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Nearby Hotels
$1,200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bernardus Lodge & Spa(Carmel Valley)
$525
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$700
$600
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$650
$629
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$355
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$184
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
$200
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Big Sur Lodge(Big Sur)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,249)
Filter reviews
1,249 results
Traveler rating
804
340
74
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
804
340
74
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated floorsmotor lodgelittle sur cabinfire pitdonutsbathroom floormid centuryboard gamesthe riverfiltered waterprivate patios'mores kitroad houseking roomview cabinmini fridgecoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
594 - 599 of 1,249 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As we wanted to stay around Big Sur we choose Glen Oaks. We were travelling with our babygirl and were not aloud to stay at Ventana or Post Ranch Inn... Glen Oaks has nice cabins and a pretty good restaurant. Unfortunately prices are pretty high for what you get. Of course it is Big Sur but you stay close to the road in the woods with no view. For one night it is ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirnograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We love the well designed rooms and public spaces - from the rock bathrooms to radiant heated floors to the open fire pit. Our 2 night stay was relaxing and the staff is excellent. Highly recommended and with great restaurants nearby and across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vilasinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Motor Lodge room #8. Immaculate! Nice linens, nice towels, well appointed. But...the roadside restaurant across highway 1 from the motor lodge. WOW. WOW. We had two exceptional meals here. We wandered over for morning coffee and sat by the outdoor fire and enjoyed the peace and surroundings. Decided to stay for a delicious breakfast. Not sure how they made oatmeal so special. We are still dreaming about the seafood gumbo that we had that evening with our dinner. This place is special. Immaculate just like the lodge. Wander into the bathroom and it will tell all. Nicely designed, immaculate and stylish. I say, if the bathroom is clean, the kitchen is clean. :) The well known Nepenthe paled in comparison to the roadside. They put alot of effort into this place to make it nice and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ratcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are driving the fabulous Big Sur you mostly have two lodging choices: Absurdly high end at golf resort and spas, or camp-out-in-the-woods cabins with shared hot tubs. Neither appeals to my husband and me, so we were thrilled to find Glen Oaks which is a very smartly updated classic highway motel/lodge which I would imagine was originally built in the 1940s. BUT, it has been updated with terrific bathrooms, plenty of space and a sort of retro mid-century vibe, not to mention gorgeous landscaping. Stay here. And be sure to eat at the roadhouse owned by the lodge across the street. Good food, same retro, Big Sur vibe. And it's great fun to dash across the PCH to get from the lodge to the roadhouse.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viator72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I chose to stay in the River View Cabin the nights surrounding my unforgettable wedding in beautiful Big Sur. I needed the comforts of a 4 star hotel so that the bridal party had enough room to get ready, but wanted to respect the beauty of our natural surrounds. Glen Oaks fit the bill perfectly! The cabin had a modern and clean interior...spacious with a living room area as well as a full kitchen (equipped with stainless steel appliances) and breakfast bar, which we converted into the "makeup station." One key feature was a full Britta water pitcher, which we put to good use. There were plenty of glasses, bowls, and utensils if you want to cook on your own. The living area included comfortable seating and a fun "fireplace" heater. The bed was VERY comfortable and the bathroom boasted my favorite feature of all...heated floors! I loved the patio with a fire pit and a view of the river and redwoods. It is perfect for an intimate night roasting s'mores and drinking wine. I had the opportunity to see the Redwood View Cabin and one of the Little Sur Cabins. The Redwood View Cabin is similar to the River View Cabin, very spacious (with a jetted tub). The Little Sur cabin was smaller in size, but the larger fire pit enclosed by a ring of majestic redwoods was our favorite for group chats. The Glen Oaks Roadhouse is their new restaurant, and the breakfast we had there was delicious. They are working on room service, and will likely have that set up soon. Above all, the service was excellent! Jeanne and Jeanette were fantastic to work with coordinating my wedding group. A welcome basket greeted me and my fiancee upon arrival, making a truly perfect wedding weekend. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Good thing we live in San Francisco an will DEFINITELY be back again and again.

Room Tip: Go with one of the cabins! Loved our River View Cabin!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiffanyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews