We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Big Sur at Glen Oaks”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay in Big Sur at Glen Oaks”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the motor lodge at Glen Oaks (rm #10). We loved this place! Great value, hip modern room with a rustic cabin feel. Heated bathroom floors were a bonus. Equipped with a small fridge with filtered water (bring your own plastic bottles) games in the room, yoga mats and gas fireplace. We did not experience the traffic noise others mentioned, as we closed the front window at night and we often sleep with our white noise app at hotels to help filter out any kind of unwanted noises. We spent each night after dinner at the fire pit just a few steps from our room, with a glass of wine and we met some fellow guests. Breakfast was just steps away either at Ripplewood restaurant (where we ate each morning, loved it) or you could walk across the street to Roadhouse. We did eat dinner at Roadhouse one night and it was excellent. Big Sur Bakery was our other favorite dinner choice. The Glen Oak property was well maintained with lots of privacy provided by lush greenery. Free wifi was a nice touch to watch netflix or check email since there is virtually no cell or 3G service throughout most of the Big Sur area. If I had to complain about anything, I would say the quality of the mattress was not as nice as other properties I have stayed at. We still slept very well, but just not as comfy as I had hoped. We took a ride across the street to check out the cabins at Glen Oak. They look nice, and private. I wouldn't hesitate to check them out, but the motor lodge was slightly less expensive. All in all I would highly recommend the Glen Oaks Motor Lodge for its value, central location to the state parks and the convenience of having two restaurant options and a general store all within walking distance. A real gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luved_kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    330
    73
    18
    11
See reviews for
93
891
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

my boyfriend and i stayed here for only one night while passing through big sur on our way to san francisco. the room was a bargain compared to some of the other insanely pricey hotels in big sur. the woman who checked us in was lovely and accommodating. the room we stayed in was a good size and i loved the mid-century inspired design. the heated tiles in the bathroom were also a luxurious plus! a few downsides: we stayed the beginning of sept and it was still somewhat warm. the room got a bit stifled during the night. even with the fan they provided and the windows open, there was still not much airflow. the wireless internet was also very slow - something to note. although not a huge deal, for someone staying longer it might become an issue. overall, i would definitely recommend and would stay again if i returned to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spottedstripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I were hiking in Big Sur recently and stayed in the River View cabin at Glen Oaks. We loved the cabin, its cleanliness, fun decor, heated bathroom floor and huge shower. We enjoyed the outdoor space even more - sitting on the porch, with a crackling fire, next to a stream after a long hike.

The staff were great, extremely helpful and gracious at all times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mecmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed in little cabin right in the Redwoods near river. Beautiful spot next to river but thought it was overpriced for small cabin. Needed to updated mattresses and bedding for the money they charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed one night in the Redwood Cabin- Forest View Suite on our way through to San Francisco in November 2012. Lovely cabin with views of redwoods and a small outdoor firepit. Large heated bathroom and a large comfy bed. Wished we could have stayed longer! This cabin is attached to the one facing the river but we still felt it was very private. Would definitely come here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in the Motor Lodge and it was perfect for what we needed. We were only in Big Sur for one night so it was perfect for us. The staff were friendly, the hot cholocate is a must to try and it was great having heated bathroom floors and the fire place added to the whole experience of Big Sur.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I really liked this hotel, altho next time I would stay in the cabins and not the motor lodge. We made our reservations late and all that was available was the motor lodge rooms. They are right on the main HWY 1 road. While in the room, this is not really a problem, but when sitting outside, it is quite noisy. The service was great and the rooms are nice with small touches that make it comfortable. There is a small fridge with a Brita filtered water pitcher, a gas fire place, 2 games provided - Jenga and scrabble. There is a patio outside with a wonderful table and chairs. There is no mini bar but there are 2 bottles of wine for sale in the room with wine glasses. The bathroom was spacious and had a heated rock floor. Very nice touch.
They have campfires at night and sell "smote" kits. It is hard to resist smores.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a cabin so you aren't right on Hwy 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,130 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
328 reviews
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
857 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing