We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Redwoods”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
SF
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Redwoods”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Splurge on a cabin if you can. Great location, wonderful on-site restaurant. Excellent place to stay if you love to hike as it is nearby all the Parks. We had a lovely porch and it was nice to just sit outside. You really are in the middle of the Redwood Forest with giant trees all around. The kitchen is small, but you can certainly have breakfast if you bring provisions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratherbehomeSf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    330
    74
    18
    12
See reviews for
94
896
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portola Valley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had the occasion to attend an upscale party in Big Sur but did not want to spend $800 + a night for a place that met our needs. After searching, I found this magical hotel that was tastefully done, had an indoor/outdoor fireplace, lovely room and great spa like bathroom.
Glen Oaks is close to many places in Big Sur and worked very well. The staff was helpful and wanted input from us when we left. My only criticism is that there was no coffee. You had to dash across the highway for a cup of Joe. The highway was somewhat quiet in the early hours of the morning - but none the less somewhat inconvenient. In discussion with the general manager, they appear to want to address the concern. We would stay there again in a New York minute

Room Tip: Try Room #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I can't say enough about how much we loved Glen Oaks. We snagged a very well-priced room in the Motor Lodge (#2) and couldn't have been happier -- when I say magical, I mean it. Well-appointed furnishings, super staff, unbelievably beautiful surroundings. Bed was cozy and comfortable, shower was luxurious. Brita pitcher in the fridge. Great shampoo and conditioner provided in eco-friendly dispensers. We had dinner both nights (by choice) at the Big Sur Roadhouse across the street, which also provides free coffee in the morning. Food was fantastic and the atmosphere was enchanting. Next time we have an opportunity to visit Big Sur, we will definitely stay at Glen Oaks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chowdapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staying at Glen Oaks was through desperation rather than choice! We'd stupidly not booked our accommodation because we weren't sure how far up the PCH we'd be able to drive in one day.... The room at Glen Oaks was the last available room in the entire Big Sur!

Saying that, the lady behind the desk was very helpful and not pushy at all, giving us information for other places if we wanted to carry on driving instead. The room was quite spacious and clean, the bathroom was enormous too. There was no air con, so we slept with the window open, but I did feel a bit exposed! It was also quite noisy, from traffic and other guests.

I probably would stay there again if the price wasn't so high!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pink_amber2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Perfect. Perfect. Perfect. The location could not have been better--only a few minutes to everything we wanted to do (30 min maximum). We stayed in the fireside room #4 and it was very comfortable. We sat outside every night by the fire and played board games (included with the room). We will always stay here when visiting Big Sur! The Roadhouse had amazing food too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise_K2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Glen Oaks last week. We had a lovely room ( #12) and enjoyed the privacy that this corner room afforded via the enclosed patio. The room was well appointed for a motor lodge: spacious and with all the necessity amenities as well as a totally renovated bath. Excellent location and great value. We also enjoyed the fact that while the other side of the mountain was shrouded in fog - the area where the motor lodge is located was beautiful and sunny each day. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Glen Oaks was not our first, or second choice of lodging in Big Sur (the others were all sold out months in advance). Having said that, I am glad we came.
Glen Oaks is a motorlodge that was renovated into a smart, fresh, cute, well located inn along PCH right smacked in Big Sur. It is about 15 mintutes away from Pfeiffer Beach to the south, and 30 minutes from Carmel in the north. It is not fancy, but a well done renovation gave it a great bathroom (shower only), a little fire pit for roasting marshmallows (tip- buy your own supplies up the road), and a small but comfortable room. Note there is no AC, or cell phone connection, for those expecting a real hotel. They have a restaurant across the street which we did not try. But 5 minutes drive south takes you to Big Sur Bakery which is fantastic for all meals. I think the lodge is perfect for young couples with a hip vibe who do not need a view.
Importantly, the reason why I want to review this place is my wonderful experience with their staff. While packing and unpacking for four, I had forgotten an important package of my jewelry which I had locked up in the safe. Marlen and Jeanne, the guest service supervisor, called me within the hour that I left. Unfortunately, with very sporadic internet connection along PCH, I did not get their message until we were too far away. We continued to me in touch via email and phone and they mailed me my things in the next outgoing UPS pick up. I did not expect such professional and caring service from most hotels around the world.
So thank you. Thank you. Thank you. We could not have asked for better people.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for the rooms further from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,133 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
345 reviews
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ventana Big Sur
Ventana Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Glen Oaks Big Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing