We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in the Redwood cabin, which has a full kitchen, living room and bedroom. The cabin is secluded and relaxing. The bedroom is cozy and clean! The best part of this cabin is the outdoor fireplace and sitting deck. We relaxed there until bed time and did not use living room at all. The deck overlooks a small creek and is surrounded by a forest. We stepped outside to the yard and looked at stars. Everything is perfect for us. The next morning, we were again sitting in front of the fireplace until check out time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felisuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    326
    72
    18
    10
See reviews for
92
870
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Adobe Fireplace King. Indoor / out door gas fireplace. Private terrace. Can't be beat! Close to Carmel and all Big Sur attraction. Be sure to have lunch at Nepenthe!!!!!!

Best sleeping weather when we were there in Aug. 2013.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobedog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Amazing staff, beautiful cabins. We stayed in Gate Cabin which was beautiful and felt secluded.

A bit expensive but it was a Saturday afternoon and nothing was open! You really do pay for their exceptionally clean cabins and privacy. It felt like we were worlds away from everyone else.

Loved the private campfire spots and overall feel. Cabin was Ikea Rustic and the bathrooms were beautiful. The s'mores were awesome but $9? Really? We just paid $320 for a nights stay, throw in the damn s'mores! LOL. Oh well! They were tasty and if you can afford a $320 cabin, you can afford $9 s'mores.

We will return and bring friends!

PS: Not great for kids -well, I should say, that it's great for everyone, but I think that it's best left for adults wanting to escape the noise of little kids. It's a quiet place and I hope it does not get ruined by people bringing their kids. Stay at a campground if you have kids!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Gate Cabin which I was worried would be noisy because of being so close to the gate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NbettePhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

With options like heated bathroom floors, outdoor claw foot bathtubs, fire pits and beautifully designed interiors all situated among the big redwoods and along the creek, Glen Oaks is absolutely the perfect match. I wouldn't go anywhere else. And the price is unmatched. Don't miss this gem.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firebellydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had Room 5, which is at the back [so quite quiet] and had a very nice, very private patio.

Really a fine place to stay, well laid out and well thought out.
Quiet enough that we could sleep with our windows open [the bathroom window opened out onto the woods behind the motel, so it was nice to leave it open also and let the night noises in].

The same people own the Big Sur Roadhouse, right across Highway 1, and it was great too, both for breakfast and dinner. Really fine, interesting food and excellent nice service. Great place to enjoy a meal, even if you can't stay at the Glen Oaks Inn.

Room Tip: Room 5 was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in a small cabin the other couple in one of their converted motel rooms.
Both were very clean.
The gluten free porridge was a great suprise and tasted even better.
Would have been great to have stayed a second night, however it's at the more expensive end of what we typically pay.

Room Tip: Lash out, stay in a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed for three nights, one night in the River View Suite, one night in the Big Sur Cabin and one night in the motor lodge. The River View Suite was awesome. New, nice kitchen, full size fridge, nice sitting area, separate bedroom, nice bathroom, beautiful patio with firepit looking out to the river. Big Sur Cabin also awesome in a different way. More privacy than River View, enclosed outdoor patio with two bathtubs and fire pit - amazing. Big glass window looking out to the patio from the bedroom. The cabin smells old, but has been refurbished, and is lovely. Motor Lodge room was very nice, but it's a motor lodge. Noisy (compared to being in the Grove), and not as many amenities, but still nice. Will definitely go back, and would recommend the Grove over the Motor Lodge, but both are very nice.

Room Tip: The Grove is on the west side of the 1, down by the river and in the trees. The Motor Lodge is righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maorish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
294 reviews
21.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
820 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.4 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,168 reviews
15.3 mi away
Blue Sky Lodge
Blue Sky Lodge
#3 of 5 in Carmel Valley
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing