We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“phenomenal”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

these small houses were incredible. they are nestled back in a gated wooded small community. creek running thru the back with lots of trees. the hotel has an outside fire set up and ready to light when you get there. the rooms were wonderful. the bathroom floors were heated which was a nice perk to have. weather was chilly 50s-60s in morning and night. Some of the rooms have full kitchens. hotel restaraunt under renovation at the time so we didn't get to experience it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the King motor lodge room.

The facility was rustic with a modern touch. I loved the style, the warm heated bathroom floor, nice fireplace, and wonderful friendly/helpful staff. I would love to come back again and stay at a cabin.

It is worth the price I paid.

Only one negative - since it is very a quiet rural location, if the people staying in the next room are in the patio, you will hear the conversation very clearly at night. I kind of wished the couple next to my room just shut up or go back to their room when they criticized and chatted non-stop for about an hour and disturbed the tranquility I paid for to read in my room. The room was a little hot when I arrived late night and I had no choice but to have the patio/garden door open for ventilation for an hour or so. Yet after that I had to turn on the fireplace since it was pretty cool at night.

This probably won't apply to the cabins, but if privacy is a concern, this is something to consider.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IchiHaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed here twice in the last year. This hotel is an oasis in an already beautiful area of the world. There is no television or phone in the room which you don't need if your in a place like Big Sur anyway! The rooms are very clean and comfortable with gas fireplace, upscale tiled bathroom that includes heated floor and a private patio area. Try the Big Sur Bakery for breakfast and Nepenthe for lunch or dinner. The desk staff was very helpful with directions to local points of interest. The fire pit and water feature with benches was a lovely place to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Glen Oaks. Beautiful modern comfortable remodeled room. Great location. Very clean with great staff. Would stay there again. Very convenient to t.he trails and restaurants in Big Sur.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ESPutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed the room. We had a King Adobe room. A very comfortable bed, heated bathroom floors were awesome, and enough space to store your bags. The communal firepit was great but unfortunately it ran out of gas before 10am so we did not enjoy as much as we wanted too. We did not hear road noise from were we stayed Room number 5 and the star gazing was great in the little courtyard outside our room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Copperdesk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Would have rated this place a 5 but it it missing some key service points. The good - Most AMAZING bed I have ever slept in, private deck with with fire pit, views of redwoods and the overall aesthetic & design. The not so good - The front desk people are not very friendly or provide any details about the area or really acknowledge you. Example: We saw on the map [they gave us] that there was a restaurant so we walked down the road and noticed nothing was there so we walked across the street to the main office and asked about dining options and she just stared at us then eventually said they have not opened the restaurant yet, so I asked for some alternatives and she said there were none. Often enough when someone is visiting a hotel they are not from that town and do not know what restaurants are in the area. When we checked out they were just cold. For $350 a night, they should include some more amenities (firewood and 2 instant oatmeal packets don't cut it) or at least have fabulous customer service. We have stayed in similar places that are expensive due to remoteness (Maui) so I don't think my expectations are unfounded.

Room Tip: We had the Forest View room - it was very beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NWlivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This little cozy cabins, give the experience of camping, but in Luxury style. On a great location on Big Sur and with some unique surprices,like the floor on the bathrooms; the interior of cabins are unique and comfortable, they have great eye for details

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinthya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,164 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
393 reviews
20 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 24 in Carmel
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
3 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $225 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing