We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous room...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous room...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the King motor lodge room.

The facility was rustic with a modern touch. I loved the style, the warm heated bathroom floor, nice fireplace, and wonderful friendly/helpful staff. I would love to come back again and stay at a cabin.

It is worth the price I paid.

Only one negative - since it is very a quiet rural location, if the people staying in the next room are in the patio, you will hear the conversation very clearly at night. I kind of wished the couple next to my room just shut up or go back to their room when they criticized and chatted non-stop for about an hour and disturbed the tranquility I paid for to read in my room. The room was a little hot when I arrived late night and I had no choice but to have the patio/garden door open for ventilation for an hour or so. Yet after that I had to turn on the fireplace since it was pretty cool at night.

This probably won't apply to the cabins, but if privacy is a concern, this is something to consider.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IchiHaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    326
    72
    18
    9
See reviews for
91
863
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed here twice in the last year. This hotel is an oasis in an already beautiful area of the world. There is no television or phone in the room which you don't need if your in a place like Big Sur anyway! The rooms are very clean and comfortable with gas fireplace, upscale tiled bathroom that includes heated floor and a private patio area. Try the Big Sur Bakery for breakfast and Nepenthe for lunch or dinner. The desk staff was very helpful with directions to local points of interest. The fire pit and water feature with benches was a lovely place to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Glen Oaks. Beautiful modern comfortable remodeled room. Great location. Very clean with great staff. Would stay there again. Very convenient to t.he trails and restaurants in Big Sur.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ESPutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed the room. We had a King Adobe room. A very comfortable bed, heated bathroom floors were awesome, and enough space to store your bags. The communal firepit was great but unfortunately it ran out of gas before 10am so we did not enjoy as much as we wanted too. We did not hear road noise from were we stayed Room number 5 and the star gazing was great in the little courtyard outside our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copperdesk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Would have rated this place a 5 but it it missing some key service points. The good - Most AMAZING bed I have ever slept in, private deck with with fire pit, views of redwoods and the overall aesthetic & design. The not so good - The front desk people are not very friendly or provide any details about the area or really acknowledge you. Example: We saw on the map [they gave us] that there was a restaurant so we walked down the road and noticed nothing was there so we walked across the street to the main office and asked about dining options and she just stared at us then eventually said they have not opened the restaurant yet, so I asked for some alternatives and she said there were none. Often enough when someone is visiting a hotel they are not from that town and do not know what restaurants are in the area. When we checked out they were just cold. For $350 a night, they should include some more amenities (firewood and 2 instant oatmeal packets don't cut it) or at least have fabulous customer service. We have stayed in similar places that are expensive due to remoteness (Maui) so I don't think my expectations are unfounded.

Room Tip: We had the Forest View room - it was very beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NWlivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This little cozy cabins, give the experience of camping, but in Luxury style. On a great location on Big Sur and with some unique surprices,like the floor on the bathrooms; the interior of cabins are unique and comfortable, they have great eye for details

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinthya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was the most luxurious place my husband and I stayed on our honeymoon (with a price ticket to match) and the cabins are absolutely stunning. We actually stayed in 2 different cabins (Big Sur Cabin and River View Cabin) because the reception desk messed up our booking. Both cabins were gorgeous with beautiful interiors and ready to light fires in the pits, but the Big Sur Cabin (which was the more expensive of the two) was lacking in basics, such as a tin opener despite having a microwave.

The downside of our stay was the customer service we received from the front desk. After messing up our initial booking we did not receive an apology and the lady that checked us in barely lifted her eyes from the computer screen for long enough to acknowledge faces. The ladies who did the housekeeping, however, were extremely friendly and helpful.

If you are looking for somewhere lovely to rest your bones in Big Sur and are prepared to put up with surly receptionists then I would recommend staying here (but perhaps go for a cabin other than the Big Sur one).

Room Tip: The Big Sur Cabin is a bit overpriced - the others are better equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.9 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
21.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing