We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern gem in Big Sur”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean, modern gem in Big Sur”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon road trip down Highway 1. We had a queen room, #1 and absolutely loved our stay. The rooms are newly updated with a clean, modern, eco-friendly feel. The heated floors in the bathroom were awesome and an unexpected treat. The fireplace in the room is nice, but made the room a little too warm for our preference. The games, magazines and filtered water in the room were nice touches. We enjoyed the community fire pit at night. The Ripplewood grocery store is right next door and convenient to buy a bottle of wine, snacks or toiletries. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cl361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    330
    74
    18
    12
See reviews for
94
896
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

After driving from San Francisco I cannot think of a better place to rest up and enjoy nature.
Our Redwood Cabin -Forest View Room was very modern, warm and comfortable. A great bed and it was very relaxing siting on the balcony watching the pit fire and feeling the energy of the redwood trees.
There is even a couple of swimming holes for the brave hearted not put off by the cold!
Its close to restaurants and the Rangers Station where advice on great trails for hiking is provided.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet,its in the amazing redwood forest we preferred the forest view; however a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Definitely a splurge for our modest means, but a bargain compared to some of Big Sur's other options. You get all of the amenities of a higher end hotel squeezed into the informality of a motor lodge. So much fun. Very romantic and private. Absolutely no complaints (though I would advise to bring your own groceries--the one nearby is very, very expensive!).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yimicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Spent a great anniversary weekend at the Archies cabin. The front porch chairs were a welcoming retreat after a long hike. There, we read (nice complimentary magazines and our own books) enjoyed a refreshing drink and watched the woodpeckers and jays in the high tree canopy above. Wild turkeys wandered in the drive. Cool.
Comfy bed and a nice two-headed shower. We will come back.

Room Tip: If daytime road noise is your concern, the highway is muted at this room. Never an issue. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Archi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Glen Oaks was a good compromise between a luxury resort and camping. My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights because we love being outdoors in Big Sur, but did not want to rough it this time around. We stayed in a Little Sur Cabin and it was very cozy. Even though it was little, it provided everything we needed and much more. All of the basic essentials were provided, down to silverware and plates. The cabin was stocked with a brita water pitcher, teas, coffees, and oatmeal, even yoga mats! The best part of the cabin was the heated bathroom floor. It was so lovely to step out onto a heated floor after a hot and steamy shower. I saw plenty of wildlife right outside the front steps, even a bob cat- or something along those lines. There were chairs around the fire pit and that area was enclosed with beautiful redwoods.
Big Sur is so beautiful and is still one of my favorite places to visit. Glen Oaks lived up to my expectations and I would definitely recommend it- or at least one of the cabins.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilaloy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with Glen Oaks since all of us (party of seven in three rooms) were prepared to be cramped in three very small rooms. Although the rooms were small, we were very comfortable.
We were also pleasantly surprised that parking was easily available and convenient.
While planning our vacation over the Christmas holidays, all of us made several calls to Glen Oaks reception desk, and they were always very helpful and responsive.
Their professionalism, customer service is of the highest level. Manager, Jeanette, is extremely helpful and addressed any of our concerns, immediately, always available to us.
We would not hesitate to return, and recommend Glen Oaks to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

my husband and I just stayed at Glen Oaks and we LOVED LOVED LOVED it! The attention to detail, the amazing staff and the magnificent views. Aw-inspiring experience!!! We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Jeanette gave us great recommendations and put us in Cabin 8 next to Redwoods and the river. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alezandrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,133 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
343 reviews
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
872 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ventana Big Sur
Ventana Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Glen Oaks Big Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing