We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Retreat in the Big Sur!”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I did a road trip up the California coast in October and stayed one night at the Glen Oaks Motel. It was the perfect spot since we were able to take in nature and relax in a luxury cabin after a day out hiking (my type of camping!) The staff at Glen Oaks was extremely friendly and helpful! They recommended and even helped make reservations at wonderful places for lunch (Ventana) and dinner (Big Sur Bakery). The staff also gave us a map of popular hiking spots. We stayed in a fireside lodge room and loved the cozy feel from the fire place!! Unfortunately it was too cold out use the outdoor patio/make s'mores, so we'll have to come back for that!). I would definitely recommend Glen Oaks and we hopefully will be back soon!

Room Tip: Book early since this is a popular place to stay and good rooms go fast!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlliniFan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Glen Oaks Big Sur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay in Big Sur! We only stayed stayed one night, 10/31/12, but had a great time! We stayed in room # 9 which was a king room in the motor lodge with a dual sided fire place. Our room was the closest to the community firepit which I though might be a problem due to noise, but it wasn't an issue at all. We purchased a smor'es kit from the front dest for $16.00 and enjoyed them by the fire with a nice bottle of wine. It was great! We met a very nice family visiting from Paris, France and had fun explaining the tradition of Halloween and sharing our smor'es. The room itself was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The bathroom has heated floors which was a welcome treat on a chilly morning. We will definitely return to Glen Oaks on our next visit....It was perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 338lisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a great time here. It was clean and the rooms are very nicely done!! It was secluded and romantic. It was like a 5 star camping adventure!!!! Everything was wonderful about it. I can't wait to stay here again !!!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in the Sycmore cabin for 3 nights and loved it. The scenery was picture perfect and the fire pit was put to great use. The bed, lines and pillows were also very comfortable. Pricey, but not for Big Sur

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jopheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. We stayed in the Adobe Motor Lodge Fireside King. We were in heaven! The decor is fabulous, and you can't beat the location. This is the best value in Big Sur if you want a place with style, but don't want to spend the money for Post Ranch Inn or Ventana. The staff was very helpful - they gave us great dinner recommendations (Big Sur Bakery!) and booked massages at Ventana for us. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for the double sided fire place. There is no restaurant on site, although t...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in the Big Sur Cottage at Glen Oaks for 2 nights. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. If you want absolute isolation you would love it here! The cottage was beautifully decorated with it's own separate kitchen and terrace outside with a fire pit & two outside tubs (we didn't use these in October!). A minor complaint we have is that the concept of 'self-catering' is not really easily achievable in the cottage as the kitchen had virtually no cutlery, serving plates etc. to enable you to do this! We found eating out options in the Big Sur to be pretty limited so bear that in mind, you may have to travel further in a car to find a nice restaurant. Glen Oaks is within 15minutes drive of some beautiful national beach parks like Pfeiffer Beach which is well worth a visit for the views. In summary, although we did enjoy our stay in the Big Sur and would recommend it, for us 2 nights at our very remote Glen Oaks cottage was more than enough and we were ready to move on and we did feel that it was extremely expensive all things considered. It is after all still just a motel and not a hotel but carries a rather hefty price tag as there are few accommodation options in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was fine (if eccentrically decorated) but ludicrously over priced. We had little choice the other hotels locally did not have good reviews.

But the staff were very helpful ( you cant make long distance calls from the without a phone card), we didn't have one and a member of staff lent us hers.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank SimonMcG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
20.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
675 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
355 reviews
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
892 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: $225 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing