We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin walls, highway noise, scratchy wool blankets”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thin walls, highway noise, scratchy wool blankets”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This old remodeled hotel looks nice from the outside, but that's because they spent all their budget on weird plants. What they didn't spend money on: Sound proofing the walls/windows so you don't hear highway and other guests every move, WD-40 for creaking door hinges, radios/tvs in rooms to drown out noise, non-scratchy blankets. Decor felt like Salvation Army circa 1970, not Midcentury modern. Decor fail! And what's with the yoga mats? Rooms are so small, it would be impossible to do a sun salutation in them! Bathrooms look nice, though. But $220 in off season? Come on!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    327
    72
    18
    11
See reviews for
92
879
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Anywhere nestled in this most fabulous of locations has got a lot to live up to. The glen Oaks redwood cabin (forest view) certainly doesnt disappoint. The decor is superb, everything works well and is clean and the general ambience once their is worth our 6000 mile trip alone.

Light a fire in your own firepit to enjoy from either the porch deck or from your room through the large double sash windows.

We stayed here for two nights originally because we couldn't really afford the Post Ranch Inn (8mins up the road) but having now visted both we would happily find an excuse to return to Glen Oaks, if not just to try he other lodges and cabins.

The staff were great, the room is very safe and the evenings very quiet. The bed was more comfortable than our own bed at home (which never happens on holiday)

Room Tip: They are updating rooms all the time so either check their facebook page or get them to run through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sssingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We only stayed here one night on route to LA... but i wanted to stay longer!!! The cottage was so clean, cute & cozy. After dinner at Ventana we arrived home to a romantic wood stove fireplace and the small of fresh country sea air!!! I love Big Sur. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworld1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Glen Oaks and in the beautiful Big Sur.
We met some great people around the fire pit and discovered what Smoors were!
The room was really cosy, better than I was expecting.
Ripplewood cafe next door is fantastic for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie-Crouch_End
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wonderful setting. Clean comfy room. Great place to stay. Everything about our stay here on our honeymoon was excellent. We liked having the oatmeal packets and teas for in the mornings. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Amazing design throughout this area/ establishment. What a delight for the senses, a longer stay would defiently be on the cards for our next visit. As soon as you arrive you feel a sense of calm and relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heylove9583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Loved this place. We stayed at a Little Sur cabin. These are actually across highway 1 from the motel itself. They are spread just far enough apart to give a sense of seclusion. We were in cabin #5. Cabin was situated amongst the trees, and a little clearing across from it had a river beyond that, you could hear it. Fire pit was great. Little shed with extra wood in it was right across from out cabin. We really didnt hear other guests much during our stay, despite the fact that the cabin is part of a duplex. The room is very well done, although quite small. there is a smores kit and wine you can buy, an fridge and microwave (i think), mugs, champagne glasses, bottle opener, plates, scrabble game, even a cutting board and knife. Bathroom was tiny but sufficient. Only thing that could have made it better would be to have a bit of a bigger room. I did scope out the other cabins a bit, and if i were to stay again, I would stay in cabin #8 (best outdoor area of the little sur cabins that I could see). Would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
21.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
15.3 mi away
Blue Sky Lodge
Blue Sky Lodge
#3 of 5 in Carmel Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glen Oaks Big Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing